Your opinions on cheap poultry from LIDL

Author
jackpot
Senior Member
  • Total Posts : 172
  • Reward points: 6814
  • Joined: 2005/03/13 21:03:32
  • Status: offline
2006/11/03 01:26:49 (permalink)

Your opinions on cheap poultry from LIDL

Are frozen chicken breast from Lidl of poorer meat quality than frozen stuff from normal supermarkets (Tesco, Asda, Sainsbury’s)?

I know it’s a dumb question since no one probably knows where Lidl sources their meat/poultry products from but I just wanted to know personal opinions of people who have tried their chicken breast and other foods.

I also saw very cheap chicken breasts at Iceland, they looked quiet nasty,, what do you think is it ok to have them (regularly)??

post edited by jackpot - 2006/11/03 01:27:30
#1

16 Replies Related Threads

    MuscleTalk Shop - Bodybuilding Supplements
    sibs
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 1552
    • Reward points: 5949
    • Joined: 2006/09/07 19:17:41
    • Status: offline
    RE: Your opinions on cheap poultry from LIDL 2006/11/03 01:35:37 (permalink)

    ORIGINAL: jackpot

    Are frozen chicken breast from Lidl of poorer meat quality than frozen stuff from normal supermarkets (Tesco, Asda, Sainsbury’s)?

    I know it’s a dumb question since no one probably knows where Lidl sources their meat/poultry products from but I just wanted to know personal opinions of people who have tried their chicken breast and other foods.

    I also saw very cheap chicken breasts at Iceland, they looked quiet nasty,, what do you think is it ok to have them (regularly)??





    ^^^^^ stuff from normal supermarkets LOL

    "I CANT BE BEAT, I WONT BE BEAT, I CANT BE BEAT"
    #2
    jackpot
    Senior Member
    • Total Posts : 172
    • Reward points: 6814
    • Joined: 2005/03/13 21:03:32
    • Status: offline
    RE: Your opinions on cheap poultry from LIDL 2006/11/03 01:42:04 (permalink)

    ORIGINAL: sibs


    ORIGINAL: jackpot

    Are frozen chicken breast from Lidl of poorer meat quality than frozen stuff from normal supermarkets (Tesco, Asda, Sainsbury’s)?

    I know it’s a dumb question since no one probably knows where Lidl sources their meat/poultry products from but I just wanted to know personal opinions of people who have tried their chicken breast and other foods.

    I also saw very cheap chicken breasts at Iceland, they looked quiet nasty,, what do you think is it ok to have them (regularly)??





    ^^^^^ stuff from normal supermarkets LOL


    With normal supermarkets I mean supermarkets which do not operate on “No Frills” strategies like Lidl does.
    #3
    Nidge Marchant
    Olympian Member
    • Total Posts : 821
    • Reward points: 4172
    • Joined: 2002/12/01 18:40:59
    • Location: Sutton In Ashfield Nottinghamshire.
    • Status: offline
    RE: Your opinions on cheap poultry from LIDL 2006/11/03 06:09:22 (permalink)

    ORIGINAL: jackpot

    Are frozen chicken breast from Lidl of poorer meat quality than frozen stuff from normal supermarkets (Tesco, Asda, Sainsbury’s)?

    I know it’s a dumb question since no one probably knows where Lidl sources their meat/poultry products from but I just wanted to know personal opinions of people who have tried their chicken breast and other foods.

    I also saw very cheap chicken breasts at Iceland, they looked quiet nasty,, what do you think is it ok to have them (regularly)??





    Get one of Lidl's un-cooked chicken and cook it yourself, I'll tell you something they are bang on the meat falls off the chicken when it's cooked.
    #4
    OoOGazOoO
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 21744
    • Reward points: 6505
    • Joined: 2004/08/15 17:30:29
    • Location: Lincs United Kingdom
    • Status: offline
    RE: Your opinions on cheap poultry from LIDL 2006/11/03 09:15:07 (permalink)
    From my experience, Lidl's meat is actually of quite high quality.

    They taste nice, don't shrink when in the oven, etc...
    #5
    trew
    Olympian Member
    • Total Posts : 683
    • Reward points: 5427
    • Joined: 2006/05/10 17:31:33
    • Location: Valencia
    • Status: offline
    RE: Your opinions on cheap poultry from LIDL 2006/11/03 10:37:33 (permalink)
    ORIGINAL: jackpot


    ORIGINAL: sibs


    ^^^^^ stuff from normal supermarkets LOL


    With normal supermarkets I mean supermarkets which do not operate on “No Frills” strategies like Lidl does.



    I think he meant that dont think for one second that the big supermarkets' chicken is particularly good quality in the first place. Certainly not a bench mark of good chicken, thats for sure.

    #6
    jackpot
    Senior Member
    • Total Posts : 172
    • Reward points: 6814
    • Joined: 2005/03/13 21:03:32
    • Status: offline
    RE: Your opinions on cheap poultry from LIDL 2006/11/03 17:54:00 (permalink)
    Can anyone recommend random food products which can be bought at LIDL, for example foods high in protein or just foods you have bought there and liked?

    What do you think of their fruit Quark, it says foramge frais on it as well, is that a good protein source whilst bulking?
    #7
    ChilledDJ
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 3196
    • Reward points: 7411
    • Joined: 2006/01/24 22:44:52
    • Status: offline
    RE: Your opinions on cheap poultry from LIDL 2006/11/03 21:02:02 (permalink)
    Sardines, would definatley get the sardines in tomato sauce, cost around 27p a tin I think... The chicken's good, the steak I bought from there that was reduced was nice and I always stock up on tins of tomatoes at 13p a throw to make all those lovely pasta sauces/curries/pasta bakes! Their baked beans are pretty nice as well

    My Journal

    Time to get strong.
    #8
    Ak_88
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 19591
    • Reward points: 7810
    • Joined: 2005/11/06 21:35:22
    • Location: Chelmsford, Essex
    • Status: offline
    RE: Your opinions on cheap poultry from LIDL 2006/11/03 21:23:24 (permalink)
    Don't see the problem with Icelands chicken breasts, been eating them most nights since i've been at uni, no complaints really.
    #9
    Nidge Marchant
    Olympian Member
    • Total Posts : 821
    • Reward points: 4172
    • Joined: 2002/12/01 18:40:59
    • Location: Sutton In Ashfield Nottinghamshire.
    • Status: offline
    RE: Your opinions on cheap poultry from LIDL 2006/11/03 21:47:16 (permalink)

    ORIGINAL: jackpot

    Can anyone recommend random food products which can be bought at LIDL, for example foods high in protein or just foods you have bought there and liked?

    What do you think of their fruit Quark, it says foramge frais on it as well, is that a good protein source whilst bulking?



    All Lidl's stuff is ok, I like the Salmon @ £1.09 for a tin you can get it in msutard and dill sauce.
    #10
    RobM
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 2370
    • Reward points: 4870
    • Joined: 2006/07/02 23:59:10
    • Location: UK
    • Status: offline
    RE: Your opinions on cheap poultry from LIDL 2006/11/03 22:00:33 (permalink)
    I bought a two packets of chicken breasts, had one the day I bought it and next day the other has gone off, they were still in the original packaging and well within the use by date. Obviously took it back and got me money. Usually I have no problems with their product and been very happy.
    #11
    AZLAN
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 1807
    • Reward points: 1636
    • Joined: 2006/05/22 11:13:21
    • Status: offline
    RE: Your opinions on cheap poultry from LIDL 2006/11/03 22:54:20 (permalink)
    How can you tell if chicken has gone off?
    #12
    OoOGazOoO
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 21744
    • Reward points: 6505
    • Joined: 2004/08/15 17:30:29
    • Location: Lincs United Kingdom
    • Status: offline
    RE: Your opinions on cheap poultry from LIDL 2006/11/04 01:21:16 (permalink)

    ORIGINAL: Ak_88

    Don't see the problem with Icelands chicken breasts, been eating them most nights since i've been at uni, no complaints really.


    I thought the same mate, until i actually cooked one and then it went from a chicken breast into a sparrow breast in about 25 mins in the oven.
    #13
    jackpot
    Senior Member
    • Total Posts : 172
    • Reward points: 6814
    • Joined: 2005/03/13 21:03:32
    • Status: offline
    RE: Your opinions on cheap poultry from LIDL 2006/11/04 14:37:12 (permalink)
    I couldn’t find any chicken breasts there so bought frozen marinated turkey breast fillets, its 19g protein per 100g. I also asked a worker and he just showed me some frozen boned chicken but no frozen chicken breast.
    #14
    klein
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 4692
    • Reward points: 7599
    • Joined: 2006/01/26 10:43:13
    • Location: Scotland
    • Status: online
    RE: Your opinions on cheap poultry from LIDL 2006/11/04 17:14:17 (permalink)
    I used to buy the cooked chicken breast pieces from Aldi, they tasted nice and claimed to be 98% chicken (I think). It was £2.50 for 500g so was quite cost effective too. Anyone here have any opinion on them?

    Gerry
    #15
    OoOGazOoO
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 21744
    • Reward points: 6505
    • Joined: 2004/08/15 17:30:29
    • Location: Lincs United Kingdom
    • Status: offline
    RE: Your opinions on cheap poultry from LIDL 2006/11/04 18:02:43 (permalink)

    ORIGINAL: cuprager

    I used to buy the cooked chicken breast pieces from Aldi, they tasted nice and claimed to be 98% chicken (I think). It was £2.50 for 500g so was quite cost effective too. Anyone here have any opinion on them?

    Gerry


    They are the ones i have used and have always found them of decent quality.
    #16
    RobM
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 2370
    • Reward points: 4870
    • Joined: 2006/07/02 23:59:10
    • Location: UK
    • Status: offline
    RE: Your opinions on cheap poultry from LIDL 2006/11/04 20:44:42 (permalink)

    ORIGINAL: AZLAN

    How can you tell if chicken has gone off?



    when you open the packet just smell it, if it smells rank even ofter washing it not like meat then it has gone off and chuck it.
    #17
    Jump to:
    MuscleTalk Shop - Bodybuilding Supplements
    ©2014 All content is copyright of MuscleTalk.co.uk and its use elsewhere is prohibited. (posting guidelines | privacy | advertise | contact us | supported by)
    © 2014 APG vNext Commercial Version 5.0