Sponsored by: Discount Supplements - For an extra 6% off Absolutely Everything - use code: SEPT6

Boditronics - a few samples and my opinions...

Page: 123 > Showing page 1 of 3
Author
Papa Lazarou
Pro-Member
  • Total Posts : 28655
  • Reward points: 10014
  • Joined: 2006/02/16 15:17:43
  • Status: offline
2009/07/20 18:43:09 (permalink)

Boditronics - a few samples and my opinions...

Cookies and cream:  Very subtle taste, slightly chocolatey and slightly creamy in taste.  Nice and thick shake and easy to drink.  Perhaps a little too subtle in taste when mixed with 350ml water.  3/5.

Banana Split:  The surprise of the lot.  Nice and bananary (if such a word exists) and tastes real rather than like a chemical want to be.  Nice.  Thick shake again, much better than the likes of the watery Nutrisport (if you use less with the latter it becomes unbearably sweet, at least for me). 4/5.

Strawberry Split:  Subtlely strawberry, again tastes real rather than a chemical want to be.  Flavour is perhaps a little weak so you'd need less water with this, rather like the cookies and cream.  Nice and thick again. 3/5.

Choc Mint:  Again, quite subtle, with the mint being the overiding flavour.  Perhaps the disappointment of the lot. Again nice and thick shake and not frothy. 2/5.

Overall thoughts - nice but subtle flavours - I think the trick is to use a lot less water than most shakes need to make them sweeter.  Defo a lot nicer than the likes of Nutrisport, All In One, EAS, Met Rx shakes i've tried but not quite as nice as Gaspari, but about half the cost if you factor deal in that are are available.
#1

53 Replies Related Threads

    Jakeuk1
    Olympian Member
    • Total Posts : 857
    • Reward points: 2728
    • Joined: 2009/02/14 20:34:31
    • Location: South West, England
    • Status: offline
    Re:Boditronics - a few samples and my opinions... 2009/07/20 19:12:44 (permalink)
    Good review.

    Personally, I was a little disappointed with the Cookies 'n' Cream variety. I bought a 2.5kg tub a couple weeks back and yeah it definately tastes okay and is very drinkable - but I just wish it tasted as good as it smelt! It smells awesome haha. A very thick shake too which is good and bad - it bloats me out a lot and you end up losing a couple grams of protein in the bottom and sides of the shaker.

    The best protein I have ever tasted is Optimum Nutrition's 100% whey protein. But it lacks protein content and is higher in cals / sugar / fat than many others out there. The chocolate mint flavour smells and tastes just like those round chocolate mint viscount biscuits which is awesome! :)

    "Protein Powder .. that's like steroids, right?"

    "Yes, chocolate flavoured steroids. I also have some strawberry flavoured crystal meth if you're interested?"

    #2
    Daari
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 9447
    • Reward points: 6963
    • Joined: 2003/11/09 17:46:18
    • Location: United Kingdom
    • Status: offline
    Re:Boditronics - a few samples and my opinions... 2009/07/20 20:00:44 (permalink)
    I find the flavours subtle too.  This is why I kinda like nutrisport; which has a very strong flavour/taste.

    Some flavours are more 'powerful' than others in the boditronics range.  I find coconut a little stronger than the rest
    #3
    kreig
    Universe Member
    • Total Posts : 395
    • Reward points: 5096
    • Joined: 2008/06/06 20:00:01
    • Status: offline
    Re:Boditronics - a few samples and my opinions... 2009/07/20 20:47:53 (permalink)
    I've tried both the choc orange and the coconut and found them both quite strong tasting and very pleasent when mixed with the recommend ammount of water
    #4
    Icemansoldier
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 14421
    • Reward points: 7871
    • Joined: 2007/08/09 14:46:40
    • Location: UK
    • Status: offline
    Re:Boditronics - a few samples and my opinions... 2009/07/20 22:21:28 (permalink)
    I just bought 3 samples off there site there, cocanut cream, cookies and cream and vanilla ice cream.

    Ive had cookies and cream before its lovely as is peanut toffee!!

    Banana split and rasp ripple is nice.

    Straw - defo lacks flavour imo i was disappointed with it.

    Ill let you know what i think of the samples when i get them.
    #5
    jindlay
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 4047
    • Reward points: 2221
    • Joined: 2009/02/18 01:15:34
    • Location: Scotland
    • Status: offline
    Re:Boditronics - a few samples and my opinions... 2009/07/20 22:59:12 (permalink)
    Think I've tried near the whole range and every flavour dissapointed me bar Raspberry Ripple, which is brilliant. The main reason being the product gets SO hyped up on here that my expectations were built right up. - Especially for peanut toffee!

    Now I know they're different products but BSN Choc Peanut Toffee... oh my god, beautiful!!!!!
    #6
    rich2988
    New Member
    • Total Posts : 37
    • Reward points: 2229
    • Joined: 2008/08/25 21:26:51
    • Status: offline
    Re:Boditronics - a few samples and my opinions... 2009/07/20 23:25:47 (permalink)
    Agreed on raspberry ripple. i would quite happely drink it time and time again
    #7
    Terrier
    Senior Member
    • Total Posts : 230
    • Reward points: 8479
    • Joined: 2006/05/15 00:25:21
    • Status: offline
    Re:Boditronics - a few samples and my opinions... 2009/07/20 23:53:21 (permalink)
    jindlay

    Think I've tried near the whole range and every flavour dissapointed me bar Raspberry Ripple, which is brilliant. The main reason being the product gets SO hyped up on here that my expectations were built right up. - Especially for peanut toffee!

    Now I know they're different products but BSN Choc Peanut Toffee... oh my god, beautiful!!!!!


    Must admit I have tried a few flavours in the Boditronics range. As above Raspberry Ripple is my fave but when placing an order tomorrow I am tempted by Choc Mint.
     
    Other than the above has anyone tried the Choc Mint (I dont want to be stuck with a tough flavour to get through)
     
    I have just finished a Black Cherry - Found it OK but again not as nice as Raspberry Ripple IMO. (It got better the more I drank of it though - weird)
    #8
    Papa Lazarou
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 28655
    • Reward points: 10014
    • Joined: 2006/02/16 15:17:43
    • Status: offline
    Re:Boditronics - a few samples and my opinions... 2009/07/20 23:59:41 (permalink)
    I'm tempted to do an order for Choc (as a safety flavour) and then raspberry... or banana, hmmm.
    #9
    naththebeast
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 4926
    • Reward points: 6201
    • Joined: 2008/06/17 22:42:46
    • Location: Brighton
    • Status: offline
    Re:Boditronics - a few samples and my opinions... 2009/07/21 08:13:48 (permalink)
    Id agree on using less water, i use about 250-300ml for my boditronics shake with a scoop with some extra powder on top of the level and tastes strong and very nice too.



    #10
    mark4130
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 1229
    • Reward points: 7236
    • Joined: 2004/11/16 19:51:45
    • Location: Baskerville Manor
    • Status: offline
    Re:Boditronics - a few samples and my opinions... 2009/07/21 09:29:37 (permalink)
    I personally like the subtle flavours - I had a sample from them of the Banana Split and didnt mind it (it reminded me of the banana foam sweets I used to eat when I was a kid). Im currently making my way through a tub of the Cookies and Cream and I think its gorgeous. Not too sweet, not too strong, just a really nice flavour and really nice consistency. I find the really strong flavours a bit too much, so I approve of the Bodytronics stuff.
    #11
    Shyne
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 1313
    • Reward points: 5554
    • Joined: 2007/03/29 21:18:58
    • Status: offline
    Re:Boditronics - a few samples and my opinions... 2009/07/21 10:39:09 (permalink)
    Only flavour I've tried is Coconut which was delicious to start with but then I got a little fed up with it if I'm honest.  I'd love to try some of the other flavours - they do sound delicious.
    #12
    Icemansoldier
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 14421
    • Reward points: 7871
    • Joined: 2007/08/09 14:46:40
    • Location: UK
    • Status: offline
    Re:Boditronics - a few samples and my opinions... 2009/07/21 13:55:40 (permalink)
    I got 3 tuns of banana, rasp ripple and peanut toffee and got fed up of them about half way through each tub, i got fed up of banana first.
    #13
    jindlay
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 4047
    • Reward points: 2221
    • Joined: 2009/02/18 01:15:34
    • Location: Scotland
    • Status: offline
    Re:Boditronics - a few samples and my opinions... 2009/07/21 14:06:29 (permalink)
    Icemansoldier

    I got 3 tuns of banana, rasp ripple and peanut toffee and got fed up of them about half way through each tub, i got fed up of banana first.
     

    Same! Peanut Toffee I was put off of after a couple shakes!

    I know taste is subjective but I cannot understand the love affair with the brand on here!?...

    #14
    mackenzie_uk
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 2918
    • Reward points: 4864
    • Joined: 2008/09/18 15:15:22
    • Location: United Kingdom
    • Status: offline
    Re:Boditronics - a few samples and my opinions... 2009/07/21 14:25:47 (permalink)
    Do they only do Protein samples?

    I'm quite interested in a sample of red mist.


    "Why Climb a Mountain, when you can become one..."

    #15
    Papa Lazarou
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 28655
    • Reward points: 10014
    • Joined: 2006/02/16 15:17:43
    • Status: offline
    Re:Boditronics - a few samples and my opinions... 2009/07/21 14:28:12 (permalink)
    They do.  Go to their website and they are 99p each.
    #16
    Boditronics Ltd
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 1464
    • Reward points: 8480
    • Joined: 2006/05/11 16:02:21
    • Status: offline
    Re:Boditronics - a few samples and my opinions... 2009/07/21 14:30:19 (permalink)
    Taste is extremely subjective , it is the main reason we do 11 flavours so hopefully there is something for everyone . Some people like their shakes sickly sweet some more subtle it is what makes humans all so different , and our job very interesting lol , for example some customers tell us Peanut toffee is too sweet others not sweet enough , some add their own sweetener to make it sweeter again others really like it I guess it is like marmite
     
    We find our flavours hit the spot with alot of  people as we try to find a good compromise between flavour while avoiding chemical aftertaste that occurs when flavouring is too strong but inevitabley not all flavours will be popular with everyone and in the supplement market there are many many brands with different flavours and everyone has their fav . I remember back in the day when you had one flavour .. wall paper paste flavour lol things have moved on thank god
     
    Wurz
    #17
    Boditronics Ltd
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 1464
    • Reward points: 8480
    • Joined: 2006/05/11 16:02:21
    • Status: offline
    Re:Boditronics - a few samples and my opinions... 2009/07/21 14:31:49 (permalink)
    mackenzie_uk

    Do they only do Protein samples?

    I'm quite interested in a sample of red mist.


    REd Mist samples are not on our site at the moment , if you email Sasha at samples@boditronics.co.uk  I am sure she will sort you out  
     
    Wurz
    #18
    mackenzie_uk
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 2918
    • Reward points: 4864
    • Joined: 2008/09/18 15:15:22
    • Location: United Kingdom
    • Status: offline
    Re:Boditronics - a few samples and my opinions... 2009/07/21 14:33:57 (permalink)
    I've just emailed your sales team. Will that be passed onto her?
    post edited by mackenzie_uk - 2009/07/21 14:35:26


    "Why Climb a Mountain, when you can become one..."

    #19
    mdm
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 3813
    • Reward points: 7754
    • Joined: 2008/08/29 23:50:51
    • Status: offline
    Re:Boditronics - a few samples and my opinions... 2009/07/21 14:34:13 (permalink)
    choc orange is awesome - nicest of all for me


    great protein - great british protein - with good content and extras


    would love to see coffee flavour
    #20
    Page: 123 > Showing page 1 of 3
    Jump to:
    ©2017 All content is copyright of MuscleTalk.co.uk and its use elsewhere is prohibited. (posting guidelines | privacy | advertise | contact us | supported by)
    © 2017 APG vNext Commercial Version 5.5