YB
BannerBanner

Eating below TDEE but not loosing. Diet Review needed

Author
jase_31
New Member
  • Total Posts : 12
  • Reward points: 9635
  • Joined: 2005/07/15 15:04:00
  • Status: offline
2015/02/19 12:13:34 (permalink)
0

Eating below TDEE but not loosing. Diet Review needed

Back in 2012, I dropped from 120kg to 97kg, by diet and exercise (eating about 1400 cals day (40pro/30fat/40carb), and 3 times 5k treadmill a week) - 5ft10 Male.
 
I got down to 97kg and plateaued. Realising that I wasnt eating enough calories I stopped the strict diet and increased calories slowly over time, remaining at a steady 97kg
 
At the end of 2013, I tried to drop again, and cut calories to 1800/day and increased training (strength and cv) considerably. Over a couple of months I managed to get down to 90kg. At whilst point holidays/christmas etc came along and I put weight on again up to about 98kg and remained steady/
 
Since January I have tried to drop again, I am currently eating approx 1800 a day target, but frequently eat less than this - weight has remained constant at around 98kg.
 
By BMR is around 1900, so my TDEE should be around 2400. My diet has been approx 1450 cals a day (on average using myfitness pal), I should therefore have a deficit of at least 1000 calories a day (7000 a week).
 
I have started to use a fitbit charge HR to track calories with myfitnespal. This is estimating around 3200 cals per day used. Everything about me says to eat less & exercise more, but is it possible, therefore that my deficit is still too low? Is my metabolism shot from the years are eating below BMR? I am scared to eat more, convinced that if I am only maintaining at this level, any increase will put weight on. 
 
At the moment my protein intake is about 100g day, fats around 45g, remained carbs. I have trying to eat 4-5 meals every 2-3 hours throughout the day. Should I change this? Anything else I should adjust?
 
 
 
 
 
post edited by jase_31 - 2015/02/19 13:58:39
#1

15 Replies Related Threads

    lancs_lad
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 1130
    • Reward points: 8698
    • Joined: 2007/02/27 18:31:25
    • Status: offline
    Re: Eating below TDEE but not loosing. Diet Review needed 2015/02/19 12:35:56 (permalink)
    0
    I bet it is a combination of you eating more than you think and exercising less that you think.  To gain 8kg over xmas you obviously have eating habits that can easily sabotage your progress.
    #2
    stinking_dylan
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 3156
    • Reward points: 9475
    • Joined: 2006/01/25 15:10:09
    • Location: Cardiff
    • Status: offline
    Re: Eating below TDEE but not loosing. Diet Review needed 2015/02/19 12:58:32 (permalink)
    0
    Do you weigh your food?  Can you give an example eating dairy?

    Lifter, runner and founder of nuutrii, a free recipe analyses tool for athletes.
    #3
    jase_31
    New Member
    • Total Posts : 12
    • Reward points: 9635
    • Joined: 2005/07/15 15:04:00
    • Status: offline
    Re: Eating below TDEE but not loosing. Diet Review needed 2015/02/19 13:16:27 (permalink)
    0
    Here are 2 random days as examples. I weight everything and log (i.e down to 9g of cheese) using Myfitnesspal from this week.
     
    I used the initial calories estimate based sedentary (BMR x 1.3), and did not include exercise. I am now started using using Fitbit Charge HR, that should ensure that I am not general less active than I think, and hopefully can adjust the numbers over time. 
     
    The 8kg gain, was over a period of time (probably 3-4 months), including 2 overseas trip, christmas, new year etc. 
     
    Day 1 
     
    Kellogg's - All Bran Original (Uk), 40 g 
    Cravendale - Milk - Pure Skimmed Milk , 200 ml 
    the Happy Egg Co - Large Egg, 1 egg (whole)  
    Cholula - Chipotle Hot Sauce, 1 TSP
    Tesco Value - Sliced Mushrooms In Water, 75 g 

    Lunch
    Kerry Low Low - Chicken and Chorizo Paella, 1 pack 333cals 
    Tesco - Cucumber and Mint Raita, 37 g (1/4 pot) 80cals

    Dinner
    Fry Light - Better Than Butter Spray Oil, 10 spray 
    Lakeland - Chicken Breast Fillets (Raw), 135.0 g 
    Tesco - Sweet Potatoes, 207.0 g 

    Snacks
    Alpro - Soya Dark Chocolate Pudding, 125 g 
    Galbani - Dolcelatte, 9 g 

    Totals 1,233 Cals 157Carb 28Fat 78Protein
     
    Day2
     
    Warburtons - Half & Half Medium Bread, 1 slice 
    Lurpak - Lighter Spreadable, 5 g 
    Tesco Value - Mixed Fruit Jam, 15 g  

    Dinner
    Waitrose Essential - Fusilli Pasta, 75 g dried 
    Balsamic Vinegar - Balsamic Vinegar, 0.25 tbsp 
    Raw - Chicken Breast (Uncooked), 200 g 
    Tesco - Everyday Value Onions, 40 g
    Oil - Olive Oil (1 Tsp), 0.5 tsp
    Sugars - Granulated (sucrose), 1 tsp(s) 
    Asda - Smart Price Passata, 200 g 
    Veggie - Green Bell Pepper , 0.5 large bell pepper (164 g) 
    Asda - Green Beans, 100 g 
    Waitrose - Unsmoked Dry Cured Back Bacon, 0.5 rasher 

    Snacks
    Tsingtao Brewery - Tsingtao Beer, 640 ml 
    Bananas - Raw, 1 medium (7" to 7-7/8" long) 
    Asda - Chocolate Mousse Reduced Fat, 75 gm
    Tesco - Healthy Living Instant Hot Chocolate, 1.5 Serving 11g  

    Totals 1,389cals 169carb 17fat 72protein 
     
    post edited by jase_31 - 2015/02/19 13:25:04
    #4
    Kaneda
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 6820
    • Reward points: 9823
    • Joined: 2006/08/17 13:42:42
    • Location: Southern Fairy
    • Status: offline
    Re: Eating below TDEE but not loosing. Diet Review needed 2015/02/19 13:45:11 (permalink)
    0
    So you're eating about 1,500 cals a day and exercising on top of that? Man that is some seriously low calories :/
    #5
    jase_31
    New Member
    • Total Posts : 12
    • Reward points: 9635
    • Joined: 2005/07/15 15:04:00
    • Status: offline
    Re: Eating below TDEE but not loosing. Diet Review needed 2015/02/19 14:01:56 (permalink)
    0
    Agreed, but at this level I am only maintaining. So I worry if I eat more, I will balloon. I know in theory, I am probably on 1500 cals deficit - and hence cant go much lower to loose. If am worried if I increase I will balloon in weight!. 
     
    I am pretty sure my calorie intake is accurate, as everything is weighted religiously. 
    #6
    dazc
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 29654
    • Reward points: 11750
    • Joined: 2003/04/02 08:23:02
    • Location: United Kingdom
    • Status: offline
    Re: Eating below TDEE but not loosing. Diet Review needed 2015/02/19 21:16:40 (permalink)
    0
    you have something wrong somewhere, at those calories, if that was what you were eating, weight would drop off and you would probably loose muscle as well.
     
    8kg over 3-4 months is rapid fat gain, and now very restricted calories (if thats what your actually eating), the numbers either dont add up or your metabolism is totally shot, but even then i would expect some weight loss given the defecit.  How are you estimating bodyfat to calculate TDEE?  its likely that you your theoretical calorie expendature is way higher than your actual calorie use.
     
    the calories are far too low, the food choices arent good either.  youll probably need to forget about loosing weight right now, focus on eating better, with more structure and gradually increasing calories from good sources to balance your macros and get better micro nutrient amounts.  exercise needs a total overhaul. 5k 3 times a week on a treadmill is very little, and will be doing nothing to promote a better body composition of healthy metabolism, you would be better spending that time lifting weights on a full body circuit.
    #7
    Jonny
    Olympian Member
    • Total Posts : 623
    • Reward points: 10955
    • Joined: 2004/03/20 15:07:38
    • Location: S.Wales
    • Status: offline
    Re: Eating below TDEE but not loosing. Diet Review needed 2015/02/20 19:06:18 (permalink)
    0
    It has already been stated above, but for a man of your weight your not eating enough, and have been chronically underrating for a long time by the looks of it, which will have caused you some issues which are manifesting themselves now.
     
    Chronically underrating is going to cause you a lot of problems, under recovery, interrupted sleep, thyroid issues, hormone issues, the list goes on. 
     
    Forget about putting things into a calculator and expecting that to be exactly correct, because it isn't going to be. What you need to do is sort your health out first and put this weight loss goal on the back burner. You need to start slowly increasing your calories little by little, this maybe as little as 100 calories per week.
     
    You need to make sure the nutrient density of your food is good, so you will need to have most of your diet made up of single ingredient foods, making sure you have adequate protein intake (which I don't think you have now) and consume good a mounts of vegetables.
     
    You have psychological issues with food as you scared to eat just incase you put a bit of weight on. You need to address this and make sure your long term health is good before you can get into the shape you want. You need to get your metabolism back on track, so you need to very slowly slowly increase calories and be very accurate with logging your food to make sure you are only increasing a small amount per week. 
     
    In a nutshell:
     
    - Get your health back on track
    - Ensure most of your daily intake is made up of good quality nutrient dense food
    - Ensure your eating enough protein
    - Make sure your eating a good amount of carbs
    - Slowly increase calories per week to try and sort metabolism out (100cals a week increase at a time, or even lower)
    - Be patient with this as it will take a while, but it is very important you sort this out to ensure that your long term health is good.
     
     
     
    #8
    stinking_dylan
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 3156
    • Reward points: 9475
    • Joined: 2006/01/25 15:10:09
    • Location: Cardiff
    • Status: offline
    Re: Eating below TDEE but not loosing. Diet Review needed 2015/02/23 10:47:34 (permalink)
    0
    As others have said, stop dieting.  Concerntrate on getting your calories up to what your maintenance should be and stay there for a bit.  Which should be at least 2500, but is highly dependable on the individual.
     
    You won't get fat, and even if you do gain a little, then you can cut it again later. All this process needs to get to the point where it is repeatable, so don't stress it.
     
    Eat more meals if that helps, and up your protein, double it at least.

    Lifter, runner and founder of nuutrii, a free recipe analyses tool for athletes.
    #9
    indie
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 2831
    • Reward points: 9824
    • Joined: 2007/07/02 14:18:12
    • Status: offline
    Re: Eating below TDEE but not loosing. Diet Review needed 2015/03/02 11:05:56 (permalink)
    0
    If your cutting and looking to get super lean, you got to be asking yourself whether your training is truly intense enough, really keeping track every little thing you eat, are you truly eating the foods to optimise fatloss. Is a diet including sucrose, jams, chocolate mousses, Tsingtao Beer or hot chocolate going to optimise the potential of your diet.
     
    A cutting diet may often include times where your lowering calories to lower than you may be comfortable with, it can be a necessary evil, especially if weight is not coming off.
     
    In my experience, most people underestimate how much they have to lose and underestimate how much they eat, getting very lean does take time. My advice track everything, lower your carb percentage a bit and raise protein a bit, take out any unnecessary calories.
    #10
    WhiteSnake
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 10246
    • Reward points: 9620
    • Joined: 2005/05/14 12:25:30
    • Location: The wrong side of 44
    • Status: offline
    Re: Eating below TDEE but not loosing. Diet Review needed 2015/03/02 14:06:27 (permalink)
    0
    lancs_lad
    I bet it is a combination of you eating more than you think and exercising less that you think.  To gain 8kg over xmas you obviously have eating habits that can easily sabotage your progress.


    X2
    It seems you're going from one extreme to the other.
     You must be really letting yourself go to gain 8kgs of xmas. So huge calorie surpluses then huge deficits.
    Small deficits, be patient and avoid the big weight gains.
    But you're eating too little. 98gs and consuming 100g protein and 45g of fats is way too little.
    #11
    WhiteSnake
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 10246
    • Reward points: 9620
    • Joined: 2005/05/14 12:25:30
    • Location: The wrong side of 44
    • Status: offline
    Re: Eating below TDEE but not loosing. Diet Review needed 2015/03/02 14:12:38 (permalink)
    0
    jase_31
    Agreed, but at this level I am only maintaining. So I worry if I eat more, I will balloon. I know in theory, I am probably on 1500 cals deficit - and hence cant go much lower to loose. If am worried if I increase I will balloon in weight!. 
     
    I am pretty sure my calorie intake is accurate, as everything is weighted religiously. 


    Your metabolism must be shot to pieces. I seen in further posts you're consuming 72g of protein some days and you mention the 1500 calories deficit. Your muscle must be wasting away. You're going to need muscle and a healthy metabolism to burn fat.
    #12
    Mark7616
    New Member
    • Total Posts : 29
    • Reward points: 1635
    • Joined: 2015/02/24 13:59:47
    • Status: offline
    Re: Eating below TDEE but not loosing. Diet Review needed 2015/03/03 13:31:09 (permalink)
    0
    To give you a view from a complete noob point of view. I was in the army and a very lean 86Kg. When I left the army I just didn't bother doing any fitness, ate what I wanted when ever I wanted and we very seldom cooked. From 2007 until October last year I ballooned upto 119.6Kg and decided enough was enough.
     
    So fueled with 0% of knowledge and a lot of determination off I went. I ate 1600 calories a day and between October and the week before Christmas I lost around 10Kg and went down to 109kg. Then like you I ate a lot over the festive period and then went with work to Orlando and consumed my body weight in steak and came home at 115.4kg. I had watched a program called fat sick and nearly dead and decided I would start the juicing diet so every week I bought around 8 carrier bags of veg and for 42 days did nothing but drink vegetable juice. I shrank down to 98kg in 40 days. I lost a lot of fat and a lot of muscle, but something clicked in my head and I decided enough was enough I want to be fit, healthy and get ripped.
     
    So I joined the gym and with the help of the information online, I learnt what to eat how much I should be eating and I feel great.
     
    I am 6ft 98kg around 29% bodyfat. My TDEE is around 2809. I lift weights 3 times a week and do HIIT cardio 3x a week. So with that in mind I eat between 2200-2300 calories a day. This is made up of 154g of Protein 87g of fat and 204g of carbs.  I make sure I hit my minimums of protein and fat for the day and then make the rest of my meals up to my calorie deficit I try and eat under my carb allowance by eating more fats and protein. I try and eat clean and healthy now.
     
    My weight has remained around the same, I think I have lost around 1Kg but I don't care for now. At the moment I have measured all my body areas and for 3 weeks will stick to my training plan and eating clean. Then I will weigh myself and measure again. Don't be hung up to much on the weight eat the right things, train the right way, if you can sack off that 5k run bull and do some HIIT if you put the effort into it you will feel like you have been to the gym and not like the cardio bunnies who don't break sweat. I get to the gym at 6am for cardio and usually I am the first to leave but I tell you what I am also the most knackered.
     
    Stick with it mate and it will work the guys on here are invaluable, please if I have said something that is majorly wrong correct me as I am learning as well.
    #13
    WW10
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 2753
    • Reward points: 6359
    • Joined: 2010/09/13 23:10:01
    • Location: Warrington
    • Status: offline
    Re: Eating below TDEE but not loosing. Diet Review needed 2015/03/03 20:15:32 (permalink)
    0
    As WhiteSnake said, your metabolism is shot. I highly suggest looking at your long term goals. Decide to focus on them rather than your short term, which from the sounds of this is just the generic 'wanting to be as ripped' as possible look.

    Official MuscleTalk Rep for Protein Dynamix™
    Best In Class Sports Nutrition
    #14
    wannabbig2
    Senior Member
    • Total Posts : 209
    • Reward points: 194
    • Joined: 2014/01/09 14:44:08
    • Status: offline
    Re: Eating below TDEE but not loosing. Diet Review needed 2015/03/03 20:22:07 (permalink)
    0
    Also too much sugar imo.
    #15
    indie
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 2831
    • Reward points: 9824
    • Joined: 2007/07/02 14:18:12
    • Status: offline
    Re: Eating below TDEE but not loosing. Diet Review needed 2015/03/04 10:58:37 (permalink)
    0
    At roughly 29% bf, your fatloss journey is going to take time. To do it in a healthy way, your diet could take you up to a year, not weeks or months. Be patient, everyone lapses or plateaus at some point during their diet, just remember to weigh and track what you eat and remember as you lose weight you'll need to lower your calories throughout your diet in line with your lighter bodyweight.
    #16
    Jump to:
    ©2018 All content is copyright of MuscleTalk.co.uk and its use elsewhere is prohibited.
    (posting guidelines | privacy | advertise | earnings disclaimer | contact us | supported by)
    © 2018 APG vNext Commercial Version 5.5