Sponsored by: Discount Supplements - For an extra 6% off Absolutely Everything - use code: SEPT6

Fasting Myths Debunked -Opinions?

Author
essex_chris
Pro-Member
  • Total Posts : 17318
  • Reward points: 10038
  • Joined: 2005/08/21 13:20:45
  • Location: Essex
  • Status: offline
2011/03/22 08:56:46 (permalink)

Fasting Myths Debunked -Opinions?

Followed a link to the LeanGains site from somewhere else on MT, and found myself reading some of it this morning. I'm not a candidate for the main protocol, since you should be low-ish body fat, but i found this article quite interesting since it claims to debunk many myths about fasting, and common misconceptions about eating several small meals, each with say 30g of protein.
 
http://www.leangains.com/...ng-myths-debunked.html
 
Interested to know what people think of the arguments presented.

Awesome pic, but Tony you're not doing yourself many favours posting up tips on preventing the gag reflex and then a picture of a guy touching his toes - Ak
#1

7 Replies Related Threads

    essex_chris
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 17318
    • Reward points: 10038
    • Joined: 2005/08/21 13:20:45
    • Location: Essex
    • Status: offline
    Re:Fasting Myths Debunked -Opinions? 2011/03/22 08:57:42 (permalink)
    As an example here is Number 4
    "4. Myth: Fasting tricks the body into "starvation mode".


    Truth

    Efficient adaptation to famine was important for survival during rough times in our evolution. Lowering metabolic rate during starvation allowed us to live longer, increasing the possibility that we might come across something to eat. Starvation literally means starvation. It doesn't mean skipping a meal not eating for 24 hours. Or not eating for three days even. The belief that meal skipping or short-term fasting causes "starvation mode" is so completely ridiculous and absurd that it makes me want to jump out the window.

    Looking at the numerous studies I've read, the earliest evidence for lowered metabolic rate in response to fasting occurred after 60 hours (-8% in resting metabolic rate). Other studies show metabolic rate is not impacted until 72-96 hours have passed (George Cahill has contributed a lot on this topic).

    Seemingly paradoxical, metabolic rate is actually increased in short-term fasting. For some concrete numbers, studies have shown an increase of 3.6% - 10% after 36-48 hours (Mansell PI, et al, and Zauner C, et al). This makes sense from an evolutionary perspective. Epinephrine and norepinephrine (adrenaline/noradrenaline) sharpens the mind and makes us want to move around. Desirable traits that encouraged us to seek for food, or for the hunter to kill his prey, increasing survival. At some point, after several days of no eating, this benefit would confer no benefit to survival and probably would have done more harm than good; instead, an adaptation that favored conservation of energy turned out to be advantageous. Thus metabolic rate is increased in short-term fasting (up to 60 hours).

    Again, I have choosen extreme examples to show how absurd the myth of "starvation mode" is - especially when you consider that the exact opposite is true in the context of how the term is thrown around.

    Origin
    I guess some genius read that fasting or starvation causes metabolic rate to drop and took that to mean that meal skipping, or not eating for a day or two, would cause starvation mode.
    "

    Awesome pic, but Tony you're not doing yourself many favours posting up tips on preventing the gag reflex and then a picture of a guy touching his toes - Ak
    #2
    Pasty
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 1501
    • Reward points: 2444
    • Joined: 2009/05/28 10:13:29
    • Location: Leeds
    • Status: offline
    Re:Fasting Myths Debunked -Opinions? 2011/03/22 22:20:15 (permalink)
    I think this has been posted previously but it's a good link. Cheers for sharing :)
    #3
    Big Les
    Moderator
    • Total Posts : 13667
    • Reward points: 10422
    • Joined: 2001/08/16 23:55:42
    • Status: offline
    Re:Fasting Myths Debunked -Opinions? 2011/03/23 11:35:57 (permalink)
    Oh dear here we go again.
     
    If you like doing extreme things then knock yourself out - I will say one thing - If you dont like eating then maybe bodybuilding isnt the sport for you!
     
     
    #4
    Pasty
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 1501
    • Reward points: 2444
    • Joined: 2009/05/28 10:13:29
    • Location: Leeds
    • Status: offline
    Re:Fasting Myths Debunked -Opinions? 2011/03/23 16:14:44 (permalink)
    Intermittent fasting isn't a new phenomenon, if you're looking to be the biggest guy ever and maximise gains then it's probably not even worth considering.

    If you do want to get very lean and don't mind sacraficing slower gains it is an approach that can be successful.
    #5
    Big Les
    Moderator
    • Total Posts : 13667
    • Reward points: 10422
    • Joined: 2001/08/16 23:55:42
    • Status: offline
    Re:Fasting Myths Debunked -Opinions? 2011/03/23 18:52:26 (permalink)
    I would say if you want to get lean and dont mind sacrificing muscle - :)
     
    Sorry I dont understand the attraction of not eating, and probably never will.
    #6
    Pasty
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 1501
    • Reward points: 2444
    • Joined: 2009/05/28 10:13:29
    • Location: Leeds
    • Status: offline
    Re:Fasting Myths Debunked -Opinions? 2011/03/23 19:53:35 (permalink)
    Haha, Come on Les can any individual truly reduce bodyfat without sacrificing some lean tissue? Doubt it would be appreciable especially if the feeding windows are as large as the author of the article suggests and some smart supplementation is used.
    #7
    Big Les
    Moderator
    • Total Posts : 13667
    • Reward points: 10422
    • Joined: 2001/08/16 23:55:42
    • Status: offline
    Re:Fasting Myths Debunked -Opinions? 2011/03/23 21:19:41 (permalink)
    Rick - yes you can get leaner and gain muscle - naturally (although some of that is due to maths admittedly), and some is due to being diet smart.
    If you start supplementing even just otc, let alone otherwise then it gets easier - which is why I dont get fasting - you dont need to go there :)
     
    #8
    Jump to:
    ©2017 All content is copyright of MuscleTalk.co.uk and its use elsewhere is prohibited. (posting guidelines | privacy | advertise | contact us | supported by)
    © 2017 APG vNext Commercial Version 5.5