Sponsored by: Discount Supplements - For an extra 6% off Absolutely Everything - use code: SEPT6

Gaining Fat Opinions Please

Author
Esso
New Member
  • Total Posts : 47
  • Reward points: 2543
  • Joined: 2007/02/16 12:48:34
  • Status: offline
2007/06/07 21:33:03 (permalink)

Gaining Fat Opinions Please

Ok the situation is that my arms are pretty skinny as is my whole body, over the next week or so i am going to eat like mad (while training) and look to gain a stone in these weeks which i am definatly capable of.
I don't care if it's fat or muslce i just want bigger arms like the forearm etc. whether it be fat or not.

What are your opinons on this, anything wrong or any advice?

Also i am worried that it may just go to my gut and not spread around the body what do you reckon?

Many thanks in advance the help is really appreciated.
#1

5 Replies Related Threads

    noname
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 12530
    • Reward points: 3230
    • Joined: 2006/10/14 21:27:19
    • Status: offline
    RE: Gaining Fat Opinions Please 2007/06/07 21:38:29 (permalink)
    In my opinion that is the wrong way to go about it.

    If you don't have much muscle mass you will end up like the saying 'a skinny fat person'!

    What are your current stats?? Weight? Height? How long training? Etc...


    #2
    sanchin
    Senior Member
    • Total Posts : 168
    • Reward points: 1156
    • Joined: 2007/01/17 17:46:57
    • Status: offline
    RE: Gaining Fat Opinions Please 2007/06/07 21:49:59 (permalink)

    ORIGINAL: Esso

    Ok the situation is that my arms are pretty skinny as is my whole body, over the next week or so i am going to eat like mad (while training) and look to gain a stone in these weeks which i am definatly capable of.
    I don't care if it's fat or muslce i just want bigger arms like the forearm etc. whether it be fat or not.

    What are your opinons on this, anything wrong or any advice?

    Also i am worried that it may just go to my gut and not spread around the body what do you reckon?

    Many thanks in advance the help is really appreciated.


    Your body is going to store fat where it chooses to store fat. So yes it may all go straight to your gut...... maybe your boobs.....maybe you will grow some flab under your arms or under your arm pits. Maybe your butt will get fat. No one knows. Very highly doubt you will store fat on your forearms though

    Arms are hard to grow. Grow the body right and the arms will follow but it take time.

    Do Squats!
    #3
    Esso
    New Member
    • Total Posts : 47
    • Reward points: 2543
    • Joined: 2007/02/16 12:48:34
    • Status: offline
    RE: Gaining Fat Opinions Please 2007/06/07 22:51:50 (permalink)
    I'm 5"11 and 8 stone = 50kg 112pounds i think
    Haven't been training for long, will be joining a gym in 5 weeks after exams.

    I reckon i've only been taking in about 1000-1500max calories a day however this will be increased, if i train with this will that be OK?

    As for the squats can i do them with dumbbells (like this?http://www.exrx.net/WeightExercises/Quadriceps/DBSquat.html) or is the effect of them severly hindered this way?
    #4
    EarlGrey
    Universe Member
    • Total Posts : 271
    • Reward points: 5530
    • Joined: 2006/12/13 21:01:26
    • Status: offline
    RE: Gaining Fat Opinions Please 2007/06/07 23:00:50 (permalink)
    8 stone? I'm waaay shorter than you and weigh 8.5 stones, am losing weight on 1500 calories too.

    I think you could easily add more weight without being fat, and you would have to increase by a fair amount if you're lifting as well - but others will be able to give better help
    #5
    sanchin
    Senior Member
    • Total Posts : 168
    • Reward points: 1156
    • Joined: 2007/01/17 17:46:57
    • Status: offline
    RE: Gaining Fat Opinions Please 2007/06/07 23:14:20 (permalink)
    Eat as much as you want. If your body composition starts getting flabby adjust. Eat 3000 good calories a day if you can .... see what happens. It isn't like your are going to eat one day then the next day you wake up morbiddly fat.

    There is a lot of good nutrition information on this site. That is something I do not know a lot about. My thing is proper exercise form. I lift because I like to lift I am a naturally a big guy. I grew up on a farm and worked all my life and never had a problem with growing. I am not a bodybuilder. I just like strength training and I am really technique conscious. When I was 13 I weighed 200 pounds. I carried 100 pound sack of livestock feed, buckets of water, I scooped grain etc..... every day and I ate like a horse.

    What I meant by the 'Do Squats!' is work big muscle. If you grow your biggest muscles then the smaller muscle will follow. People tend to grow somewhat proportional. Reason I got so big so young was all the farm work I did. I never got into weight lifting until I was 17 or 18 years old.
    #6
    Jump to:
    ©2017 All content is copyright of MuscleTalk.co.uk and its use elsewhere is prohibited. (posting guidelines | privacy | advertise | contact us | supported by)
    © 2017 APG vNext Commercial Version 5.5