SYNTHETEK INDUSTRIES
Syntherol, Syntheselen, B-12, Vasodilators, Fat Burners, Whey Isolate, Unique products
Sponsored by: Discount Supplements - For an extra 6% off Absolutely Everything - use code: SEPT6

MP New Flavour Review - Rocky Road

Author
Lay
Pro-Member
  • Total Posts : 1352
  • Reward points: 3430
  • Joined: 2013/03/08 15:26:55
  • Status: offline
2014/10/14 21:46:10 (permalink)

MP New Flavour Review - Rocky Road

I was chosen by MP to review one of their new flavours - I chose Rocky Road, of which MP generously sent me 2.5kg of their Impact Whey Protein. Now, I'm a bit sweet lover, and Rocky Road is a big favourite of mine so I was keen on getting stuck into it. Plus I'm trying to lose some timber and this was hopefully going to be a stand in (sort of).

I have always found that MP whey mixes well and leaves no real lumps or clumps. This was no different and easily dispersed into water. However, I must say that the flavour wasn't really what I was expecting in that it tasted more like a weak chocolate shake with some sweetness, but not the rocky road I had hoped for. Nonetheless I tried it with a little less water than recommended: even at 100ml the flavour reminded me of a chocolate shake with too little flavouring.

I'm also keen on making protein pancakes with a bit of powder and a few eggs of a morning, so gave this a go. Again, there was some sweetness there, but flavour seemed to be lacking. Please don't get me wrong, the flavour is nice. I just wouldn't call it rocky road and it isn't a flavour I'd buy with my own money. Please note that I only used water. The flavour could be different if mixed with milk, so please feel free to comment if you've done so and agree/disagree.

Strangely I've been enjoying chocolate coconut from MP recently. But this doesn't really taste like you'd expect it to - there's no real taste of coconut. It tastes nice with water and makes a decent tasting pancake, so I think I'll be sticking with that!
post edited by Lay - 2014/10/14 21:51:19
#1

5 Replies Related Threads

    JoshHardcastle
    Olympian Member
    • Total Posts : 470
    • Reward points: 3738
    • Joined: 2010/03/31 02:28:53
    • Status: offline
    Re: MP New Flavour Review - Rocky Road 2014/10/14 22:12:20 (permalink)
    Cheers for the review. 
     
    I use the choc coconut with water and crushed ice as a cooler during summer.  The taste seems to improve with cooler temperatures IMO FWIW.
     
    J

    Stop testing on dogs now...
    ...Your nearest anti-vivisectionist is a far more reliable model.
    A representative of MyProtein
    Checkout for specials: http://goo.gl/LqsWnL
    #2
    DC
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 1121
    • Reward points: 9160
    • Joined: 2004/12/21 17:54:58
    • Status: offline
    Re: MP New Flavour Review - Rocky Road 2014/10/15 09:05:23 (permalink)
    Sorry you didn't enjoy this flavour.

    I enjoy the choc cocunut too. Nice with milk.

    I'm just waiting on some Mocha being delivered which I'm looking forward to.
    #3
    Pet
    New Member
    • Total Posts : 73
    • Reward points: 704
    • Joined: 2014/01/15 19:08:10
    • Status: offline
    Re: MP New Flavour Review - Rocky Road 2014/10/17 11:33:54 (permalink)
    Mate of mine bought this and hated it. Complained to MP that it was nothing like Rocky Road and they ignored him!
    I'll give it a miss.

    Whether you think you will succeed or fail - you are right!
    #4
    redwing
    Supplement Offers Regulator
    • Total Posts : 9349
    • Reward points: 6216
    • Joined: 2010/09/20 20:57:53
    • Location: Romford
    • Status: offline
    Re: MP New Flavour Review - Rocky Road 2014/10/17 13:02:03 (permalink)
    2.5kg lol I only got sent 1kg.
     
    Good review though mate.



    MuscleTalk Supplement Deals Regulator
     
    #5
    gavin882
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 4090
    • Reward points: 5280
    • Joined: 2011/12/06 14:35:53
    • Status: offline
    Re: MP New Flavour Review - Rocky Road 2014/10/17 13:12:08 (permalink)
    Yeah 2.5k to sample thats rather generous !!!!!!
     
    Only ever tasyed R.R by 1 brand company & it was real nice id be interested to taste this
    #6
    Jump to:
    ©2017 All content is copyright of MuscleTalk.co.uk and its use elsewhere is prohibited. (posting guidelines | privacy | advertise | contact us | supported by)
    © 2017 APG vNext Commercial Version 5.5