YB
BannerBanner

New Diet Opinions Please

Author
smiddy
Olympian Member
  • Total Posts : 492
  • Reward points: 3634
  • Joined: 2003/08/27 20:25:39
  • Location: Scotland
  • Status: offline
2005/07/30 10:32:24 (permalink)
0

New Diet Opinions Please

Right Goals, To Gain Quality Muscle without adding too much fat!
My Routine is the same as Cashman's beginers routine, i also perform 20min HIIT cardio on the days i am NOT weight training, i do 5min warm up and cool down in the cardio, total time 30min average calories burnt 450cal.
I am looking to be around 170-180lbs and with little bodyfat.

here is my proposed diet, i have looked at James post on the diet and created this one from his advise.

Meal Food Eaten Amount Calories Fat g Carb g Protein g
Breakfast Protein Powder in Water 2 Scoops 200 3.4 3.6 38
06:30 Poridge Oats made with water 100g 360 8.1 60.4 11
Peanut Butter 10g 60 5 1 2.5

Snack Protein Powder in water 2 Scoops 200 3.4 3.6 38
10:30 Oat Cakes 6 324 13.2 43.8 7.8
Peanut Butter 10g 60 5 1 2.5

Lunch Sainsbury's Sandwiches 2 600 16 64.4 50
12:20 or
home-made sandwiches 2
(4 slices bread
200g chicken
or turkey)

Pre-workout Protein Powder in water 2 Scoops 200 3.4 3.6 38
03:00 PM banana 1 100 0 25 0

Train
4:30/5pm

Post-workout Protein Powder in water 2 Scoops 200 3.4 3.6 38
5:30/6pm Large Banana 1 100 0 25 0

Dinner chicken or turkey 200g 200 0 0 50
07:00 PM Whole wheat pasta or rice 100g 340 2 62 12.7
Virgin olive oil 10ml 90 10 0 0

Snack Protein Powder 2 Scoops 200 3.4 3.6 38


Total: 3234cal Fat 76.3g Carbs 300.6g Protein 326.5g
post edited by smiddy - 2005/07/30 10:33:44
#1

3 Replies Related Threads

    Yib
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 16492
    • Reward points: 8276
    • Joined: 2003/08/04 19:51:28
    • Location: There
    • Status: offline
    RE: New Diet Opinions Please 2005/07/31 00:27:07 (permalink)
    0
    2 scoops whey in water
    06:30 Poridge Oats (water)
    Peanut Butter

    -Do you have the whey upon waking or with the actual oats and peanut butter?


    10:30
    Protein Powder in water 2 Scoops
    Oat Cakes
    Peanut Butter

    -Why not try a solid protein source instead of the whey?


    12:20
    2 Sainsbury's Sandwiches
    or
    2 home-made sandwiches
    (4 slices bread, 200g chicken or turkey)

    Pre-workout Protein Powder in water 2 Scoops
    03:00 PM banana

    Train
    4:30/5pm

    Post-workout Protein Powder in water 2 Scoops
    5:30/6pm Large Banana

    - What kind of banana?


    07:00 PM
    chicken or turkey 200g
    Whole wheat pasta or rice
    Virgin olive oil 10ml

    Snack Protein Powder 2 Scoops 200

    -grrr...again with the whey. Go for another source of protein and because this is before bed you should make it slow digesting at least. So there are different things you can do...
    1-add flax or another source of fats
    2-have the whey in milk or have another casein based meal like cottage cheese, quark, etc.
    3-solid protein with some veg (YOUR DIET LACKS VEG)

    I'd also vary the fruits a bit, add another one somewhere in there in my opinion. I don't necessarily think the banana is a must pwo but it does depend on the person...

    Variety once in a while is good tbh...try to make things a bit more colourful with VEG and perhaps some fruit as well. Not sure what this diet is doing for you at the moment but there are a lot of things you can change if it's not getting you what you want. Just have to monitor progress and change accordingly.


    #2
    smiddy
    Olympian Member
    • Total Posts : 492
    • Reward points: 3634
    • Joined: 2003/08/27 20:25:39
    • Location: Scotland
    • Status: offline
    RE: New Diet Opinions Please 2005/07/31 11:09:25 (permalink)
    0
    Thanks for the opinions YIB

    I have the whey when i wake up followed by the oats and peanut butter.

    the banana are just ordinary banana, i keep them in the fridge to keep them as green as i can.

    The reason why i consume so much whey instead of solid protein is because i cannot stomach all that solid food, so liquid sources suit me better.

    as for veg i do eat a salad with my lunch and dinner, i just don't count the calories because it is hardly anything

    I am going to add a table spoon of Flax oil to my bedtime protein shake to give it the slow digestion.

    BTW what is Quark?? Cottage Cheese is disgusting stuff IMO. And as for variety i do eat different stuff this diet is just a basic guideline, i eat meat, turkey, tuna etc as well as eating rice, pasta, baked potatoes etc

    #3
    Yib
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 16492
    • Reward points: 8276
    • Joined: 2003/08/04 19:51:28
    • Location: There
    • Status: offline
    RE: New Diet Opinions Please 2005/07/31 20:15:46 (permalink)
    0
    Ok, well if you're having the banana pwo with the whey then I suggest you have a ripe banana.

    Do you think you can stomach eggs?

    Exactly, lettuce provides 'practically' nothing...get some proper fibrous veg. Add pulses like beans, chick peas, lentils, etc. They count as veg servings.

    You can use the actual flax seeds too...gives you some fibre, lignans, etc. Just make sure you grind them up to a powder.

    Quark has similar nutritional values to cottage cheese but is a bit cleaner. It basically tastes like natural yoghurt but has a thicker consistancy. It's a soft german cheese.

    If you're going to have potatoes then have sweet potatoes or yams. The white ones won't kill you though...up to you.

    #4
    Jump to:
    ©2018 All content is copyright of MuscleTalk.co.uk and its use elsewhere is prohibited.
    (posting guidelines | privacy | advertise | earnings disclaimer | contact us | supported by)
    © 2018 APG vNext Commercial Version 5.5