Sponsored by: Discount Supplements - For an extra 6% off Absolutely Everything - use code: SEPT6

Newbie Nutrition!! I've tried to read all I can, so please review and give your input! :-)

Author
luckyluke699
New Member
  • Total Posts : 24
  • Reward points: 2245
  • Joined: 2010/06/02 20:57:35
  • Status: offline
2011/03/18 23:27:29 (permalink)

Newbie Nutrition!! I've tried to read all I can, so please review and give your input! :-)

Hi Guys,
 
I've been working out a 3 weeks now, and I feel I'm ready to start trying to tackle my diet as I'm aware that getting this right is key and need some hep/advice. 
 
I am 29, weigh approx 85kg/185lbs, with 23% bf and am 5ft 10 inches tall. I don't know my body well enough to know how it will react yet so will see what happens over 6 months on a bulking diet and adjust accordingly with time.  
 
The thing is, nutrition does seem a bit of a dark art to me as a newcomer! I've been reading through some of the nutrition forum, and the nutrition section of the articles page, and managed to gleam the following 'basic' rules for a newbie like myself...
 
- 'Graze' i.e. eat every few hours, not 3 times per day
- 1.5g-2g protein, per lb bodyweight each day. (185*1.5 = 278g, 185*2=370) Therefore: 278-370g protein
- Most actual 'meals' should have the loose ratio of 40/40/20 for Protein/Carbs/Fat if pos
- Fat is not the enemy, in fact it is important and I should focus on the types of fats (and carbs for that matter) I consume
- Get fish in where pos
 
I work in an office 3 days per week, doing a sedentary job, and drive for 60 minutes either side to work so am out of home 11 hours a day. The other 2 days per week I work from home. I am trying to fit my nutritional routine around this, and am trying to make full use of my slow cooker, and also making JSS Smoothies + home made protein bars. An example daily diet may look as below... 
 

 
The parts of the meal which will differ day to day are the fruits, frozen home made main meal, and the evening meal to add variety. I will be trying to be disciplined enough to be adding everything I eat to the android program "Fat Secret". I wanted to use Daily Burn, but they don't seem to have an android app frustratingly.
 
Questions:
- The obvious - what am I doing wrong? or what am I missing? what general input can you give based on the above?
- I couldn't find anywhere an idea of how many calories I should be eating as a bulking diet!! I know it should be lots using the logic of input > output, but does 3,500 - 4,000 sound ok for someone like me?
- I read talk of people eating different things at different times, e.g. Carbs being best first thing in the morning, and after workouts?  Can anyone briefly explain the basics of    this to me? Should I be eating carbs or fats at certain times? or avoiding them at certain times?
- PWO shake - Amount of Protein/Maltodextrin look right? Should I take this every night, or only on workout nights?
- Is there any reason I shouldn't take the creatine in my PWO shake at all with my maltodextrin in the evening?
- Why doesn't everyone own a slow cooker? They're frickin awesome... 
 
Thanks in advance guys!! 
 
post edited by luckyluke699 - 2011/03/18 23:35:57

Nothing in the world is worth having or worth doing unless it means effort, pain, difficulty... Theodore Roosevelt 
#1

2 Replies Related Threads

    1 Rep Max Designer bodybuilding clothing - built to last. Try our popular Hoodie... The 'Utili-Hood' or our hard wearing Training Vests
    Reborn
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 16888
    • Reward points: 6296
    • Joined: 2008/05/30 22:23:29
    • Location: Sutton, Surrey
    • Status: offline
    Re:Newbie Nutrition!! I've tried to read all I can, so please review and give your input! 2011/03/19 07:23:37 (permalink)
    First off I commend you on your enthusiasm, I have been lifting on and off for over 20 years and have never gone into as much detail as that.
     
    My honest impression is that you are trying to run before you can walk. You stats show you have plenty of body fat to lose, and your diet plan (while reasonably), sound is too heavy, you will as further fat on that IMO.
     
    If you have just started training then your body will react very well and in all honesty its the only time (apart from with steroids) when you can lose BF and gain muscle at the same time.
     
    I would suggest you eat cleanly 3-5 times a day, keep protein in every meal, carbs as quality ones, fats as essential ones and you will lose both BF and gain muscle. After 6mths to a year review it then.
     
    If you decided to carry on with what you have got then get rid of the peanut butter sandwich, drop the mid afternoon bulker, go straight to the gym after work and then have your pwo shake, followed by your meal.

    My username has nothing to do with my religious beliefs.....
    #2
    luckyluke699
    New Member
    • Total Posts : 24
    • Reward points: 2245
    • Joined: 2010/06/02 20:57:35
    • Status: offline
    Re:Newbie Nutrition!! I've tried to read all I can, so please review and give your input! 2011/03/19 08:30:40 (permalink)
    Hi Reborn, firstly cheers very much for the response. Being a newbie, I have done some reading but don't think I fully understand the basics on the nutritional side yet so any advice or explanation is helpful rather than me getting it wrong for the next 6 months!!
     
    When you mention "eat cleanly" and to keep "carbs as quality ones, fats as essential ones", does the meal plan above meet those criteria in principle with the exception of it being too many calories/carbs to begin with with my bf level?
     
    The carbs seem to be coming from veg, fruit, oats and whole grain bread with linseeds. From the reading I did these seemed to qualify as good carbs? Only asking as I'm keen to understand if I have the basics right in principle at least.
     
    Also is that meal plan isn't as "clean" as you think it should or could be? If not, could you give me some basic examples of how it could be improved, even once I've dropped the PB sandwich and shake? :-) 
     
    Cheers in advance!
     
    post edited by luckyluke699 - 2011/03/19 08:37:22

    Nothing in the world is worth having or worth doing unless it means effort, pain, difficulty... Theodore Roosevelt 
    #3
    Jump to:
    ©2017 All content is copyright of MuscleTalk.co.uk and its use elsewhere is prohibited. (posting guidelines | privacy | advertise | contact us | supported by)
    © 2017 APG vNext Commercial Version 5.5