Sponsored by: Discount Supplements - For an extra 6% off Absolutely Everything - use code: OCT6

Opinions on my routine if you please

Author
d4vid
New Member
  • Total Posts : 90
  • Reward points: 2360
  • Joined: 2005/05/25 18:23:06
  • Status: offline
2005/07/20 16:59:06 (permalink)

Opinions on my routine if you please

ive recently moved my routine/exercises around and seem to be doing better

the exercises are listed in the order they are carried out

Day 1
ive recently changed from biceps and back to biceps and triceps and have reduced the amount of exercises from 3 per group to 2 and can see and feel quite a difference

skull crushers - 3 X 10,8,6
chin ups on lat machine - 5 X 5
lying down on bench, slightly inclined, using an ez bar and raising from parallel to vertical (name??) 5 X 5
hammer curls 5 X 5

Day 2

Back and shoulders

Bent over 1 arm DB rows - 5 X 5
DB shoulder press 5 X 5
pulldowns on lat machine 5 X 5
lateral raises 5 X 5
deadlifts 5 X 5

Day 3

Legs and chest

DB incline press 5 X 5
calf raises on smith machine 5 X 5
chest dips 5 X 5
squats 5 X5
and maybe flyes if i have the energy after the squats

cheers lads
post edited by d4vid - 2005/07/20 17:01:43
#1

7 Replies Related Threads

    DC77
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 3514
    • Reward points: 10834
    • Joined: 2003/12/20 17:28:21
    • Location: Liverpool, United Kingdom
    • Status: offline
    RE: Opinions on my routine if you please 2005/07/20 17:03:13 (permalink)
    Dont really like that too be honest

    Better split would be - push ie chest, shoulders and triceps, pull ie back and biceps, and legs/hams/calfs.

    Exercises should be generally two exercises, 5 x 5 is okay but can be 3-4 x 6-8.

    Exercises should be basic mass builders squats, bench, dips, presses, close grip bench, rows etc
    #2
    d4vid
    New Member
    • Total Posts : 90
    • Reward points: 2360
    • Joined: 2005/05/25 18:23:06
    • Status: offline
    RE: Opinions on my routine if you please 2005/07/20 18:31:35 (permalink)
    ORIGINAL: DC77

    Dont really like that too be honest

    Better split would be - push ie chest, shoulders and triceps, pull ie back and biceps, and legs/hams/calfs.

    Exercises should be generally two exercises, 5 x 5 is okay but can be 3-4 x 6-8.

    Exercises should be basic mass builders squats, bench, dips, presses, close grip bench, rows etc


    yeah this whole push pull legs malarky is something ive looked into and may try in time to come but ive noticed strength gains what im doing ie switching from biceps and back to biceps triceps, and also now that im doing chest on its own i can see more shaping take place - i felt as though doing chest/triceps was placing too much on my triceps so when i was going from bench press to skul crusher the following exercise, chest dips were lacking. now that imdoing chest by itself i do db bench press, calfs, and then onto chest dips and im able to do more without assistance

    this is just my justification and i appreciate your advice and might give that a try later down the line

    cheers
    #3
    DaveH
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 1300
    • Reward points: 10328
    • Joined: 2003/05/28 18:49:06
    • Location: London England
    • Status: offline
    RE: Opinions on my routine if you please 2005/07/20 18:57:29 (permalink)

    ORIGINAL: d4vid

    ORIGINAL: DC77

    Dont really like that too be honest

    Better split would be - push ie chest, shoulders and triceps, pull ie back and biceps, and legs/hams/calfs.

    Exercises should be generally two exercises, 5 x 5 is okay but can be 3-4 x 6-8.

    Exercises should be basic mass builders squats, bench, dips, presses, close grip bench, rows etc


    yeah this whole push pull legs malarky is something ive looked into and may try in time to come but ive noticed strength gains what im doing ie switching from biceps and back to biceps triceps, and also now that im doing chest on its own i can see more shaping take place - i felt as though doing chest/triceps was placing too much on my triceps so when i was going from bench press to skul crusher the following exercise, chest dips were lacking. now that imdoing chest by itself i do db bench press, calfs, and then onto chest dips and im able to do more without assistance

    this is just my justification and i appreciate your advice and might give that a try later down the line

    cheers


    How long have you been training d4vid?
    #4
    mattoggy
    New Member
    • Total Posts : 71
    • Reward points: 6779
    • Joined: 2005/04/18 01:58:09
    • Status: offline
    RE: Opinions on my routine if you please 2005/07/20 19:18:12 (permalink)
    can you only train 3 days a week d4vid because i agree i dont like that routine either, i have trained for 8 years odd now and have tried every one in the book , this is the one im comfortable with the most



    day one chest/biceps
    day two legs/delts
    day three back/triceps

    as i can only train 3 days this is the best for me but 4 days would be better and would do legs only on day 2 and shoulders only on the 4th day.


    mattoggy
    #5
    TONY
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 12079
    • Reward points: 6125
    • Joined: 2005/02/08 22:18:56
    • Location: Down at the bottom of the garden
    • Status: offline
    RE: Opinions on my routine if you please 2005/07/20 19:27:44 (permalink)
    imho i think your back and shoulders day is far too much, for me doing that many 5x5 exercises would murder me. if i was you i would take a look at frankie ny routine in the stickie at the top of the forum.
    #6
    d4vid
    New Member
    • Total Posts : 90
    • Reward points: 2360
    • Joined: 2005/05/25 18:23:06
    • Status: offline
    RE: Opinions on my routine if you please 2005/07/20 19:56:16 (permalink)
    DaveH I have been training on and off for about 3.5/4 years although only started to take it serioulsy recently i.e. incoporating squats and deadlifts etc

    i was about 10 stone then and am now 14.5 although most of my gains have come quite recently

    i will take a look at the frankie 5X5 now, thanks
    #7
    trickassmark
    Olympian Member
    • Total Posts : 510
    • Reward points: 2878
    • Joined: 2004/09/08 03:19:43
    • Status: offline
    RE: Opinions on my routine if you please 2005/07/21 05:13:08 (permalink)
    If u want to try something quite a bit different, this would be good...

    http://www.t-nation.com/readTopic.do;jsessionid=EF1F7B9C6F75B683D9950ADE025354DB.hydra?id=693794

    I think I'm going to try this soon.
    #8
    Jump to:
    ©2017 All content is copyright of MuscleTalk.co.uk and its use elsewhere is prohibited. (posting guidelines | privacy | advertise | earnings disclaimer | contact us | supported by)
    © 2017 APG vNext Commercial Version 5.5