YB
BannerBanner

Opinions on these racks please

Author
paulndice07
New Member
  • Total Posts : 6
  • Reward points: 2758
  • Joined: 2007/09/02 18:02:59
  • Status: offline
2008/05/16 20:58:39 (permalink)
0

Opinions on these racks please

Hi all,

My first post on here, But ive been reading the forum for about 4months now. Ive got my self a bench and a set of weights and have been training now for about 3months. i feel like im out growing my equipment and decided to spend some money on some new stuff.
going to buy an oly set of weights and a rack to start me off could you give me your views of the ones below. budget is about 300 pound:

http://www.argos.co.uk/static/Product/partNumber/3355264/Trail/searchtext>WEIGHTS.htm


http://www.powerhouse-fitness.co.uk/store/product.asp?dept%5Fid=10&pf%5Fid=Bodymax%5FCF375%5FStandard%5FPower%5FRack%5FWith%5FLatLow%5FPulley


http://www.powertecfitness.com/workbench_rack.htm

cheers.
#1

8 Replies Related Threads

    LMC
    Moderator
    • Total Posts : 16185
    • Reward points: 12031
    • Joined: 2004/02/24 11:34:07
    • Location: daarn saaaarf
    • Status: offline
    RE: Opinions on these racks please 2008/05/16 23:30:07 (permalink)
    0
    #1 - a bit flimsy
    #2 - perfect. Adjustable bars so you can squat and bench by yoursefl safely. Can also rack deadlift/ The pulley system is a bonus too and offers more alternatives. Then there's the Chin-Pull-Up bar. Ticks in all the right boxes.
    #3 - good for benching only, but seeing as you've got a bench already, unnecessary. You'll be unable to Squat using it so doesn't really offer a lot. Plus the cost to ship it from the US will be astronomical.

    If you look on eBay here's a decent one that might go cheap, providing you're in the Redditch area:
    http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/POWER-RACK-powertec-quality-strong-design_W0QQitemZ110251042774QQihZ001QQcategoryZ62135QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

    This article might be of some use to you too in your home gym research
    Home Gym Article

    You'll also need some weights so your budget might be stretched a little to accomodate a rack and a set of olympic weights. Cheapest Olympic set I could find are these Marcy ones (100kg worth):
    http://www.argos.co.uk/static/Product/partNumber/3356816/Trail/searchtext%3EOLYMPIC+WEIGHTS.htm

    For £189 you can go up to 145kg worth:
    http://www.fitness-superstore.co.uk/olympic_weight_sets/bodypower_145kg_olympic_weight_set_/8930_p.html

    Or on eBay here's a 165kg set with a 7' bar starting at £159:
    http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/OLYMPIC-BARBELL-WEIGHTS-SET-167-5-KG-Brand-new-RRP-270_W0QQitemZ110252247353QQihZ001QQcategoryZ137864QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem


    Or if you're anyway near Carlisle then these might go for a pretty cheap price
    http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/145kg-Olympic-Weights-Bar_W0QQitemZ320251049056QQihZ011QQcategoryZ137864QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem


    If your budget can stretch to Dumbbells too, heres a decent set on eBay:
    http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/DUMBBELLS-OLYMPIC-RUBBER-DUMBELL-WEIGHTS-SET65kgRRP-200_W0QQitemZ110252492918QQihZ001QQcategoryZ137865QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem


    I hope you find something decent out there and continue training hard

    Oh, and welcome to MT
    #2
    Dhiren
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 1193
    • Reward points: 11132
    • Joined: 2004/04/18 22:21:28
    • Location: United Kingdom
    • Status: offline
    RE: Opinions on these racks please 2008/05/17 08:38:53 (permalink)
    0
    Out of all of them the second one seems best. But if you could add an extra £12 to your budget then get this one
    http://www.fitness-superstore.co.uk/power_cages/powertec_power_rack_/5949_p.html it can handle more weight and therefore take more of a hammering and the dip bars will come in useful.
    #3
    jango
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 8469
    • Reward points: 3676
    • Joined: 2007/02/26 02:18:28
    • Location: London
    • Status: offline
    RE: Opinions on these racks please 2008/05/17 12:50:51 (permalink)
    0

    ORIGINAL: Dhiren

    Out of all of them the second one seems best. But if you could add an extra £12 to your budget then get this one
    http://www.fitness-superstore.co.uk/power_cages/powertec_power_rack_/5949_p.html it can handle more weight and therefore take more of a hammering and the dip bars will come in useful.


    That would definately be the one to go for in my opinion. ^^^^^^

    Not just because it's a better rack, but because Fitness Superstore are infinately better to deal with than Powerhouse Fitness, who are in my exprerience a bunch of lying theiving scumbags.
    #4
    waylander
    Universe Member
    • Total Posts : 279
    • Reward points: 2600
    • Joined: 2005/07/28 13:44:01
    • Status: offline
    RE: Opinions on these racks please 2008/05/19 20:27:37 (permalink)
    0
    I would go for the second one but I agree with Jango powerhouse are a nightmare to deal with my order took months to arrive dispite being told they were in stock at time of order they then decided they were not, loved the products and price not the service

    No man has the right to be an amateur in the matter of physical training. It is a shame for a man to grow old without seeing the beauty and strength of which his body is capable. Socrates, 400bc
    #5
    TRAMP
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 22813
    • Reward points: 9645
    • Joined: 2005/12/30 22:50:01
    • Status: offline
    RE: Opinions on these racks please 2008/05/19 20:42:04 (permalink)
    0
    I have the powertec rack and got it from powerhouse. No hiccups at all other than they were out of stock of 5kg discs which I'd ordered and sent me a 20kg disc as compensation. They the sent me 4 5kg plates a few weeks later



    It's finally arrived....PM Neb for swaps!


    #6
    War Lord
    Olympian Member
    • Total Posts : 793
    • Reward points: 2452
    • Joined: 2007/08/21 17:29:53
    • Status: offline
    RE: Opinions on these racks please 2008/05/20 17:13:07 (permalink)
    0
    I'd be tempted by the 3rd one, it can do squats if you look and take more wight, but without the cables. The 2nd one can't take much weight.
    #7
    aldo
    Olympian Member
    • Total Posts : 643
    • Reward points: 5941
    • Joined: 2006/02/23 18:09:09
    • Status: offline
    RE: Opinions on these racks please 2008/05/20 19:05:13 (permalink)
    #8
    War Lord
    Olympian Member
    • Total Posts : 793
    • Reward points: 2452
    • Joined: 2007/08/21 17:29:53
    • Status: offline
    RE: Opinions on these racks please 2008/05/21 13:19:27 (permalink)
    0
    I suspect it can't take much weight though, there's a more expensive one that can only take 180kg...
    #9
    Jump to:
    ©2018 All content is copyright of MuscleTalk.co.uk and its use elsewhere is prohibited.
    (posting guidelines | privacy | advertise | earnings disclaimer | contact us | supported by)
    © 2018 APG vNext Commercial Version 5.5