Visit 1 Rep Max Clothing - Heavy duty, high quality and stylish gym wear for the hard training athlete. Clothing designed with bodybuilders and weightlifters in mind!

Opinions wanted

Author
swaziboy
New Member
  • Total Posts : 2
  • Reward points: 4211
  • Joined: 2006/07/08 20:32:55
  • Status: offline
2006/07/08 23:36:15 (permalink)

Opinions wanted

Hi,

Just starting out and wanted to know what you guys thought about my regime, maybe let me know if I should be doing a bit more to get it right. I'll try to give as complete a picture as possible.
I'm 5'9 and 135 lbs (male)

Training
Upper body
Dumbell press-5 reps
Dumbell flyes-1 rep
Seated dumbell press-5 reps
Side lateral raises-1 rep
Dumbell rows-5 reps
Dumbell pullovers-1 rep
Seated dumbell ext'-5 reps
Lying tricep ext'- 1 rep
Seated dumbell curl-5 reps
Standing bicep curl-1 rep

Lower body
Leg press-5 reps
Leg ext'-1 rep
Dumbell lunges-5 reps
Lying leg curls-1 rep
Standing calf raises-5 reps
Seated calf raises-1 rep
Crunches-5 reps
Decline crunches-1 rep

I do this on a 3 day split, doing my upper twice the first week then once the following week. And vice versa with the lower body.

Diet

8am - 45g oats, mass shake, udo's oil
11am -3 scrambled eggs, two slices toast
1pm -40g mixed with mass shake(need that fibre!!)
2pm -Workout followed with maltodextrin drink
4pm -tuna sandwich
7pm -chicken with pasta or potatoes
10pm -protein shake

I know my diet may be lacking a little but my appetite is poor but I have noticed an improvement over the last couple of weeks and am adding to to it as i go. also I am supplementing with vitamins.

Any advice would really be appreciated.
#1

7 Replies Related Threads

    1 Rep Max Designer bodybuilding clothing - built to last. Try our popular Hoodie... The 'Utili-Hood' or our hard wearing Training Vests
    SlipDigby
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 1269
    • Reward points: 2545
    • Joined: 2006/05/28 13:24:56
    • Status: offline
    RE: Opinions wanted 2006/07/08 23:39:57 (permalink)
    Hi Swaziboy,

    I think there's too many excercises there and seems to lack a bit of structure. You should really include Squats, Deadlifts, Bench presses, Rows, dips and maybe chins. Concerntrate on big compound movements and leave the isolation work. I'm no pro, just my opinion...
    #2
    Morba
    Olympian Member
    • Total Posts : 652
    • Reward points: 3004
    • Joined: 2006/06/30 17:24:31
    • Status: offline
    RE: Opinions wanted 2006/07/08 23:41:27 (permalink)
    have you got reps and sets confused?

    :o
    #3
    CoVetous
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 1170
    • Reward points: 2844
    • Joined: 2004/09/25 02:16:05
    • Location: USA (Houston, Texas)
    • Status: offline
    RE: Opinions wanted 2006/07/08 23:44:21 (permalink)
    take a look at some of the routines posted above. Im sure one of those will fit you. I have tried a few of them. What works best for me are 3-4 day splits with CV on off days
    #4
    DMX
    Senior Member
    • Total Posts : 122
    • Reward points: 2904
    • Joined: 2006/07/07 18:23:12
    • Status: offline
    RE: Opinions wanted 2006/07/09 04:02:21 (permalink)
    5'9" and 135lbs - so your pretty thin mate?

    my guess is you'll be having trouble packing on size in general, much like myself when i was in my late teens

    i understand you saying youve never had much of an appetite, but your gonna have to develop one if you wanna get bigger!

    from what i see of your diet your getting a good amount of protein but not enough complex carbs or healthy fats

    if you can find a way to up your food intake and include more carbs and not just protein then im sure you'll get better results than you would with your current diet
    #5
    tbowman
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 3726
    • Reward points: 6100
    • Joined: 2002/04/11 20:28:16
    • Location: North Carolina USA
    • Status: offline
    RE: Opinions wanted 2006/07/09 04:45:16 (permalink)
    Hi Swaziboy,

    I think there's too many excercises there and seems to lack a bit of structure. You should really include Squats, Deadlifts, Bench presses, Rows, dips and maybe chins. Concerntrate on big compound movements and leave the isolation work. I'm no pro, just my opinion...

    Hi Swaziboy,

    I think there's too many excercises there and seems to lack a bit of structure. You should really include Squats, Deadlifts, Bench presses, Rows, dips and maybe chins. Concerntrate on big compound movements and leave the isolation work. I'm no pro, just my opinion...



    DIDDO...as far as diet eat as much clean food as you possibly can spread into 5-6 meals
    and you'll get right
    #6
    CoVetous
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 1170
    • Reward points: 2844
    • Joined: 2004/09/25 02:16:05
    • Location: USA (Houston, Texas)
    • Status: offline
    RE: Opinions wanted 2006/07/09 04:48:11 (permalink)
    Although im a big guy, i too have appetite problems. I found that cardio and following toxics diet made it easier. I grew up eating cup cakes and drinking a 2 liter of pepsi a day. Now i stand before you 40lbs lighter partially due to time off, but mostly due to my focus on cardio and diet. Weight lifting is easy m8. Eating isnt.

    I watched a guy eat 54 hot dogs last weak for a world record. If i could eat 3 i would be happy. lol.

    Gl and god speed.
    #7
    swaziboy
    New Member
    • Total Posts : 2
    • Reward points: 4211
    • Joined: 2006/07/08 20:32:55
    • Status: offline
    RE: Opinions wanted 2006/07/09 15:29:06 (permalink)
    The training plan I got from Body for life but I see what you're saying, I need to build a good solid base by working the groups?
    Forgot to include, been running the routine like this increasing weight each set then decrease last set. (yes reps/sets are confused. Doh!)

    Dumbell press-5 sets 12, 10, 8, 6, 12 reps
    Dumbell flyes-1 set 12 reps
    And so on....

    Will increase my carb intake, get those energy levels up! Funny though, its the morning I really struggle to eat at all but come night time I can eat for England.
    #8
    Jump to:
    ©2017 All content is copyright of MuscleTalk.co.uk and its use elsewhere is prohibited. (posting guidelines | privacy | advertise | contact us | supported by)
    © 2017 APG vNext Commercial Version 5.5