YB
BannerBanner

Helpful Reply[Q] Elbow and knee sleeves - Recommendation / opinions?

Author
Ravi H
Senior Member
  • Total Posts : 145
  • Reward points: 1372
  • Joined: 2014/12/13 10:28:34
  • Status: offline
2015/02/16 11:35:38 (permalink)
0

[Q] Elbow and knee sleeves - Recommendation / opinions?

Hi all,
 
Seeing as been getting a lot of pain in my inner elbow (tennis elbow i believe) Although I will confirm this with the doctor tomorrow. I am in need of some elbow and also knee sleeves, could you give me advice on what brands / models you have used in the past and your opinions from scale of 1-10.
 
I searched the forums and I can see Rehband (not sure what model though) and the bumble bee ones from strength shop seem to be a good choice?
 
ELBOW SLEEVES
 
http://www.rehbandsport.co.uk/products/elbow/tennis-elbow-support.html
 
https://www.strengthshop.co.uk/sleeves-wraps/elbow-sleeves/strengthshop-double-ply-thor-elbow-sleeves.html
 
KNEE SLEEVES
https://www.strengthshop.co.uk/sleeves-wraps/knee-sleeves/strengthshop-double-ply-thor-knee-sleeves.html
 
http://www.rehbandsport.co.uk/products/knee/7mm-knee-support-blue-line.html (NOT SURE IF THIS IS RIGHT MODEL FOR LIFTING?)
 
P.S (cheeky off topic question) - If you use wrist wraps would this ideally take the pressure off your wrist and go further up your arm i.e. elbow and possibly shoulder? I believe I have quite weak joints as first it was my wrist which i solved by using wrist wraps but it seems as if the pain has gone up my arm now into my elbow? Not sure if this is just in my head or not. I also had a rotator cuff injury last year which the pain comes and goes.
 
Many thanks in advance for your thoughts all,
Rav :)
post edited by Ravi H - 2015/02/16 11:43:49
#1
The_Lone_Wolf
Moderator
  • Total Posts : 15476
  • Reward points: 5382
  • Joined: 2010/12/17 13:40:16
  • Location: South UK
  • Status: offline
Re: [Q] Elbow and knee sleeves - Recommendation / opinions? 2015/02/16 12:42:41 (permalink)
0
Hi mate.
 
I've got rehband knee and elbow sleeves, and also some strength shop ones too. I use them for different things really...
 
My rehbands I use for warmth and compression. I don't feel like I get any extra kg's out of them, but they keep my joints warm and happy. The strength shop ones I use for more maximal work as I feel they give me a little carry over on the lift.
 
I've got these elbow sleeves...
 
http://www.rehbandsport.co.uk/products/elbow/elbow-support-compression-stability.html
 
https://www.strengthshop.co.uk/sleeves-wraps/elbow-sleeves/hercules-elbow-sleeve-support-brace-thick-heavy.html
 
 
These are my knee sleeves...
 
http://www.rehbandsport.co.uk/products/knee/knee-support-heavy-lifting.html
 
https://www.strengthshop.co.uk/sleeves-wraps/knee-sleeves/strengthshop-single-ply-hercules-knee-sleeves.html
 
I've got a discount code if you want free shipping from the Rehband website too :)
 
Remember though, that the rehbands are priced per sleeve, where as the strength shop ones are for a pair. 

Bodybuilding Warehouse Rep.
#2
Ravi H
Senior Member
  • Total Posts : 145
  • Reward points: 1372
  • Joined: 2014/12/13 10:28:34
  • Status: offline
Re: [Q] Elbow and knee sleeves - Recommendation / opinions? 2015/02/16 12:52:56 (permalink)
0
The_Lone_Wolf
Hi mate.
 
I've got rehband knee and elbow sleeves, and also some strength shop ones too. I use them for different things really...
 
My rehbands I use for warmth and compression. I don't feel like I get any extra kg's out of them, but they keep my joints warm and happy. The strength shop ones I use for more maximal work as I feel they give me a little carry over on the lift.
 
I've got these elbow sleeves...
 
http://www.rehbandsport.co.uk/products/elbow/elbow-support-compression-stability.html
 
https://www.strengthshop.co.uk/sleeves-wraps/elbow-sleeves/hercules-elbow-sleeve-support-brace-thick-heavy.html
 
 
These are my knee sleeves...
 
http://www.rehbandsport.co.uk/products/knee/knee-support-heavy-lifting.html
 
https://www.strengthshop.co.uk/sleeves-wraps/knee-sleeves/strengthshop-single-ply-hercules-knee-sleeves.html
 
I've got a discount code if you want free shipping from the Rehband website too :)
 
Remember though, that the rehbands are priced per sleeve, where as the strength shop ones are for a pair. 




Fantastic, easy and simple reply I LIKE IT.
 
Per sleeve? bloody hell that's really expensive. Yeah ideally I just wanted it for warmth and compression to be honest as i want to concentrate on support more than anything. Is it worth paying double wamy for the rehband elbow and knee support sleeves? That's quite a big amount of £££'s for pair of both :(.
 
EDIT: What do you think about the below?
https://www.strengthshop.co.uk/sleeves-wraps/knee-sleeves/strength-shop-7mm-neoprene-inferno-knee-sleeve-ipf-approved.html
 
or
https://www.strengthshop.co.uk/sleeves-wraps/knee-sleeves/strengthshop-double-ply-thor-knee-sleeves.html
KNEES ^
 
https://www.strengthshop.co.uk/sleeves-wraps/elbow-sleeves/strengthshop-neoprene-elbow-sleeves.html
ELBOW ^ (on offer at £9.99)
post edited by Ravi H - 2015/02/16 14:44:11
#3
iaink
Moderator
  • Total Posts : 23602
  • Reward points: 10819
  • Joined: 2006/01/03 17:59:15
  • Status: offline
Re: [Q] Elbow and knee sleeves - Recommendation / opinions? 2015/02/17 08:36:35 (permalink)
0
Rehband sleeves are excellent and last an age. You can get 5mm ones which are cheaper.

However nearly any make of sleeve will provide the warmth and support you need. A basic strength shop sleeve (single ply) will def do the job and be cost effective.
#4
Ravi H
Senior Member
  • Total Posts : 145
  • Reward points: 1372
  • Joined: 2014/12/13 10:28:34
  • Status: offline
Re: [Q] Elbow and knee sleeves - Recommendation / opinions? 2015/02/17 08:45:11 (permalink)
0
iaink
Rehband sleeves are excellent and last an age. You can get 5mm ones which are cheaper.

However nearly any make of sleeve will provide the warmth and support you need. A basic strength shop sleeve (single ply) will def do the job and be cost effective.



Does this apply to both knee and elbow sleeves? I was thinking of getting the ones I mentioned just above from the strength shop (hercules brand for both)! But then again you got cheaper ones on Amazon with decent reviews. Urgh choices..!
 
£15 for elbow hercules strengthshop sleeves single ply?
£15 for knee hercules strengthshop sleeves single ply?
£9.99 for elbow Neoprene strengthshop sleeves ?
 
Are there any discount codes as well for strengthShop?
post edited by Ravi H - 2015/02/17 09:53:05
#5
The_Lone_Wolf
Moderator
  • Total Posts : 15476
  • Reward points: 5382
  • Joined: 2010/12/17 13:40:16
  • Location: South UK
  • Status: offline
Re: [Q] Elbow and knee sleeves - Recommendation / opinions? 2015/02/17 12:01:03 (permalink)☄ Helpfulby Ravi H 2015/02/17 12:34:42
0
Strength shop discount codes are rarer than rocking horse sh1t mate.
 
I think the SS inferno sleeves are priced per sleeve too... Rehband have just released a newer version of the famopus blue 7mm knee sleeve too, but only 5mm in elbow.
 
I like the Hercules sleeves though, but if I was going for neoprene I'd still opt for rehband due to the quality.  

Bodybuilding Warehouse Rep.
#6
Ravi H
Senior Member
  • Total Posts : 145
  • Reward points: 1372
  • Joined: 2014/12/13 10:28:34
  • Status: offline
Re: [Q] Elbow and knee sleeves - Recommendation / opinions? 2015/02/17 12:34:38 (permalink)
0
The_Lone_Wolf
Strength shop discount codes are rarer than rocking horse sh1t mate.
 
I think the SS inferno sleeves are priced per sleeve too... Rehband have just released a newer version of the famopus blue 7mm knee sleeve too, but only 5mm in elbow.
 
I like the Hercules sleeves though, but if I was going for neoprene I'd still opt for rehband due to the quality.  




Cheers for your help buddy.
 
I've gone with the Strongshop Hercules sleeves for Elbows and Knees :). Look forward to them arriving now!
 
Thanks all, great help as always.
#7
The_Lone_Wolf
Moderator
  • Total Posts : 15476
  • Reward points: 5382
  • Joined: 2010/12/17 13:40:16
  • Location: South UK
  • Status: offline
Re: [Q] Elbow and knee sleeves - Recommendation / opinions? 2015/02/18 10:22:26 (permalink)
0
Enjoy mate, let me know how you get on.

Bodybuilding Warehouse Rep.
#8
Ravi H
Senior Member
  • Total Posts : 145
  • Reward points: 1372
  • Joined: 2014/12/13 10:28:34
  • Status: offline
Re: [Q] Elbow and knee sleeves - Recommendation / opinions? 2015/02/19 10:49:56 (permalink)
0
Wow super fast delivery from Strengthshop! literally next day pow!
 
Tried the elbow sleeves yesterday while i was watching tv for an hour or so and definitely felt warmer and compressed. I will try the knee sleeves today at the gym and let you know how i get on with those.
 
Question: Do you think it's still worth wearing my elbow sleeves at the gym even though im not actually using my upper body? I will wear them at home in evenings to keep it compressed but any point doign this at the gym?
#9
Ravi H
Senior Member
  • Total Posts : 145
  • Reward points: 1372
  • Joined: 2014/12/13 10:28:34
  • Status: offline
Re: [Q] Elbow and knee sleeves - Recommendation / opinions? 2015/02/24 15:21:46 (permalink)
0
The_Lone_Wolf
Enjoy mate, let me know how you get on.




Reporting back!
 
Tried the knee sleeves and LOVE THEM! really do help me stay warmer in the knees and feel like i have little more support as everything feels tighter.
 
Elbow sleeves - I have just worn these around the house so can't really comment but do help keep my elbows warm.
 
All in all a solid purchased and oh man did this arrive quickly!  
#10
The_Lone_Wolf
Moderator
  • Total Posts : 15476
  • Reward points: 5382
  • Joined: 2010/12/17 13:40:16
  • Location: South UK
  • Status: offline
Re: [Q] Elbow and knee sleeves - Recommendation / opinions? 2015/02/25 09:00:12 (permalink)
0
Glad they helped mate. 

Bodybuilding Warehouse Rep.
#11
Jump to:
©2018 All content is copyright of MuscleTalk.co.uk and its use elsewhere is prohibited.
(posting guidelines | privacy | advertise | earnings disclaimer | contact us | supported by)
© 2018 APG vNext Commercial Version 5.5