Sponsored by: Discount Supplements - For an extra 6% off Absolutely Everything - use code: SEPT6

Review my new workout plan, please :)

Author
woot
Pro-Member
  • Total Posts : 1944
  • Reward points: 6143
  • Joined: 2005/05/07 20:21:21
  • Location: England
  • Status: offline
2006/07/09 13:37:53 (permalink)

Review my new workout plan, please :)

Looking at changing what i'm doing as I'm been doing the same for some time now(changed a few exercises but not really the routine). Currently I aim for 4 sessions each quite high in vol and weight and takes over an hour.

I'm thinking of doing lower vol, less sets, more weight, more often. Say 6 days a week. Workouts will be 1/2 hr region.

This is the plan:

Chest Monday
---
Flat Bench Press 3x8
Incline Press 3x8
2x10-12 DB Flyes

Legs Tuesday
---
Squats 4x8
SLDL 4x8
Calf Raises 4x10-12

Bi's Wednesday
---
BB Curl 3x8
Close Grip Chin ups 3x8-10


Delts Thursday
---
Standing/Seated Military Press 4x8
Side Lat Raises 3x8
DB Shrugs 4x10-12

Back Friday
---
Deadlifts 4x12x10x8x6
Weighted Wide Grip Chins 3x8
Dumbbell Rows 4x8

Tri's Sunday
---
Weighted Dips 3x8
Skull Crushers then Presses 3x8-10


Is this ok for someone looking to "get big"? Currently 84kg, 5-7 and at 12-14%. Don't mind going up bf % for now as I hold it quite well.
Long term goal is to compete one day.

Comments please!
post edited by woot - 2006/07/09 13:46:41
#1

4 Replies Related Threads

    1 Rep Max Designer bodybuilding clothing - built to last. Try our popular Hoodie... The 'Utili-Hood' or our hard wearing Training Vests
    themacro
    New Member
    • Total Posts : 21
    • Reward points: 2101
    • Joined: 2006/03/31 02:43:08
    • Location: Glasgow
    • Status: offline
    RE: Review my new workout plan, please :) 2006/07/09 19:08:29 (permalink)
    That's a lot of gym time! Be careful you're not overtraining., as this can be detremental to your progress and growth.

    First of all, why are you changing your routine? Was it not working or are you looking to spend less time in the gym per session?

    IMHO, I think you should maybe cut back a bit. I'm a big believer in abbreviated routines (awaits barrage of abuse ) and am currently on a three day week, which is working very well for me. Focus on your target weight, e.g. 95kg. Build up to that weight using the basic compound exercises (e.g. squat, deadlift, military press etc) to build you up to or beyond this weight (with a view to cutting back down to it). Compound exercises are great because you can work loads of muscles at once so you can effectively use fewer exercises.

    Once you have achieved your desired weight and BF%, then focus on smaller isolation exercises to work on symmetry, refinement etc.

    Remember that rest plays a huge part in muscle growth. If you're in the gym every day, beating the hell out of your muscles, then you're not very likely to grow as you are not giving your body adequate recovery time.

    I'm sure this goes without saying, but remember to keep your diet strict and get plenty of sleep.

    Again, this is just my opinion. You've got to find what works for you. All the best with your training.
    #2
    sl
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 7442
    • Reward points: 10399
    • Joined: 2005/04/25 23:57:48
    • Status: offline
    RE: Review my new workout plan, please :) 2006/07/09 19:27:01 (permalink)
    i like it, but i'd hit the arms (bis, tris) on the same day.
    ORIGINAL: woot

    Looking at changing what i'm doing as I'm been doing the same for some time now(changed a few exercises but not really the routine). Currently I aim for 4 sessions each quite high in vol and weight and takes over an hour.

    I'm thinking of doing lower vol, less sets, more weight, more often. Say 6 days a week. Workouts will be 1/2 hr region.

    This is the plan:

    Chest Monday
    ---
    Flat Bench Press 3x8
    Incline Press 3x8
    2x10-12 DB Flyes

    Legs Tuesday
    ---
    Squats 4x8
    SLDL 4x8
    Calf Raises 4x10-12

    Bi's Wednesday
    ---
    BB Curl 3x8
    Close Grip Chin ups 3x8-10


    Delts Thursday
    ---
    Standing/Seated Military Press 4x8
    Side Lat Raises 3x8
    DB Shrugs 4x10-12

    Back Friday
    ---
    Deadlifts 4x12x10x8x6
    Weighted Wide Grip Chins 3x8
    Dumbbell Rows 4x8

    Tri's Sunday
    ---
    Weighted Dips 3x8
    Skull Crushers then Presses 3x8-10


    Is this ok for someone looking to "get big"? Currently 84kg, 5-7 and at 12-14%. Don't mind going up bf % for now as I hold it quite well.
    Long term goal is to compete one day.

    Comments please!

    #3
    woot
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 1944
    • Reward points: 6143
    • Joined: 2005/05/07 20:21:21
    • Location: England
    • Status: offline
    RE: Review my new workout plan, please :) 2006/07/09 20:00:15 (permalink)

    ORIGINAL: themacro

    That's a lot of gym time! Be careful you're not overtraining., as this can be detremental to your progress and growth.

    First of all, why are you changing your routine? Was it not working or are you looking to spend less time in the gym per session?

    IMHO, I think you should maybe cut back a bit. I'm a big believer in abbreviated routines (awaits barrage of abuse ) and am currently on a three day week, which is working very well for me. Focus on your target weight, e.g. 95kg. Build up to that weight using the basic compound exercises (e.g. squat, deadlift, military press etc) to build you up to or beyond this weight (with a view to cutting back down to it). Compound exercises are great because you can work loads of muscles at once so you can effectively use fewer exercises.

    Once you have achieved your desired weight and BF%, then focus on smaller isolation exercises to work on symmetry, refinement etc.

    Remember that rest plays a huge part in muscle growth. If you're in the gym every day, beating the hell out of your muscles, then you're not very likely to grow as you are not giving your body adequate recovery time.

    I'm sure this goes without saying, but remember to keep your diet strict and get plenty of sleep.

    Again, this is just my opinion. You've got to find what works for you. All the best with your training.


    Don't get me wrong bro, if anything I'll be doing alot less. I spend about 5 to 6 hours per week in the gym. With this new routine, I'm expecting it to be just over 3 hours. Wanting to change this up as I've hit a sticking point and believe I'm "over doing things" with the current routine.

    ORIGINAL: sl
    i like it, but i'd hit the arms (bis, tris) on the same day.

    So drop a day and do both tris / bis together?

    #4
    sl
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 7442
    • Reward points: 10399
    • Joined: 2005/04/25 23:57:48
    • Status: offline
    RE: Review my new workout plan, please :) 2006/07/10 00:17:38 (permalink)
    Yes thats how I'd do it, and you would have an extra day for rest and to recover.
    #5
    Jump to:
    ©2017 All content is copyright of MuscleTalk.co.uk and its use elsewhere is prohibited. (posting guidelines | privacy | advertise | contact us | supported by)
    © 2017 APG vNext Commercial Version 5.5