YB
BannerBanner

Surprise Property Inspection.

Page: 12 > Showing page 1 of 2
Author
Blue_Lagoon3000
Pro-Member
  • Total Posts : 10931
  • Reward points: 2198
  • Joined: 2008/06/15 20:40:26
  • Status: offline
2009/07/29 19:07:41 (permalink)
0

Surprise Property Inspection.

Just got back from work to find a letter dated 24th of July explaining thay there will be a Property Inspection on the 29th July (Today) It only arrived today.
 
The letting agent company has been in my apartment while ive been at work, there are a few things in my apartment that i would of rather them not of known about... nothing too serious just bits and bobs. In the wardrobe i have a safe i dont think im pretty sure they will not of got in to my safe as its coded.
 
The fact is im not holding anything serious but there was a small ammount of reccy drugs there do you think the rental agent would report this to the police? Im really not in the mood for having my door kicked down and having my house raided and my safe taken away.
 
What should i do?
#1

26 Replies Related Threads

    1ManRiot
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 22828
    • Reward points: 9459
    • Joined: 2006/11/05 03:16:41
    • Status: offline
    Re:Surprise Property Inspection. 2009/07/29 19:12:44 (permalink)
    0
    As you say, they won't have been in your safe.

    They are also not allowed in without you present- or at least I thought that was the case?

    I would kick off to fcuk if someone went into my flat without me being there.

    Unaffiliated. 
    #2
    Red Man
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 10217
    • Reward points: 6562
    • Joined: 2006/10/11 12:01:49
    • Location: North West
    • Status: offline
    Re:Surprise Property Inspection. 2009/07/29 19:15:00 (permalink)
    0
    Were the drugs in the safe on lying about?
    Its normally down to the letting agent to report to the owner... It depends on how strict they are.
    If it was me and i found drugs id issue a final warning.

    "You're not drunk if you can lie on the floor without holding on." Dean Martin

    #3
    Blue_Lagoon3000
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 10931
    • Reward points: 2198
    • Joined: 2008/06/15 20:40:26
    • Status: offline
    Re:Surprise Property Inspection. 2009/07/29 19:22:09 (permalink)
    0
    26 They send you a letter to notify that they will be doing an Inspection and you can either be there or just let them go in alone, the fact is i only got the letter this evening after they had been it.

    Red Man the drugs were not in the safe and were just in the same wardrobe on a ledge its only a small amount but im thinking they might think i have more. There was also a few amps of Test E left over from my last cycle a couple of nearly empty vials some PCT stuff and some needles etc in a big bag from the needle exchange.
     
    Ive just spoke to other people in my apartment bloc and NONE of them had an inspection and its all rented by the same company?
    #4
    Red Man
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 10217
    • Reward points: 6562
    • Joined: 2006/10/11 12:01:49
    • Location: North West
    • Status: offline
    Re:Surprise Property Inspection. 2009/07/29 19:26:50 (permalink)
    0
    Have you spoken to the leasing company?

    I would mate, dont let it go or you'll be waiting for the post man every day...

    "You're not drunk if you can lie on the floor without holding on." Dean Martin

    #5
    Blue_Lagoon3000
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 10931
    • Reward points: 2198
    • Joined: 2008/06/15 20:40:26
    • Status: offline
    Re:Surprise Property Inspection. 2009/07/29 19:37:29 (permalink)
    0
    Red Man

    Have you spoken to the leasing company?

    I would mate, dont let it go or you'll be waiting for the post man every day...


    Not yet i didnt get in until 6:30 and they close at 5 maybe im just paranoid but why would they inspect just my house?
     
    About a month ago i was locked out and they wouldnt drop off my spare keys, i travelled all the way to meet them whilst hungover and got some keys, i got back to my apartment and the keys did not work i told them if they did not get working keys to me in 30 mins i'd have the locks drilled, They said NO you can not do that but i was hungover so i got the locks drilled and new ones put on.. they were not pleased but there was no way i was waiting 24 hours for them.
     
    I sent of a spare key to them and then this happens.
    #6
    Wheels
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 8900
    • Reward points: 9504
    • Joined: 2003/06/20 18:56:36
    • Location: Sometimes here, Sometimes there
    • Status: offline
    Re:Surprise Property Inspection. 2009/07/29 19:40:34 (permalink)
    0
    Complain about the lack of notice and the entry without your approval.  I'm reasonably sure they have to get you to confirm you accept them entering the property without you present.  They can't just send a blind letter and show up.

    The agents I let from send a letter requesting I contact them to arrange a suitable time and date, which seems like a much fairer way of doing it.  Even if you had got the letter the day it was sent it's quite short notice to get time of work etc that most people would have to arrange.
    #7
    RedHotF
    Moderator
    • Total Posts : 17834
    • Reward points: 9579
    • Joined: 2007/01/16 13:11:13
    • Location: Cyprus
    • Status: offline
    Re:Surprise Property Inspection. 2009/07/29 19:41:45 (permalink)
    0
    Since when does a property inspection involve looking in your wardrobes???  Don't they just look around at the fixtures and fittings, carpets etc and make sure nothing is broken or damaged.  They're not going to go rifling through your wardrobe and if they have, that is a breach of your personal belongings the nosey bstards!  I'm sure they never even looked anyway.
    #8
    Red Man
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 10217
    • Reward points: 6562
    • Joined: 2006/10/11 12:01:49
    • Location: North West
    • Status: offline
    Re:Surprise Property Inspection. 2009/07/29 19:42:10 (permalink)
    0
    I think the lock and key story answers any questions...
    You cant blame them for wanting to have a look. I also have little doubt that the letter wasnt unintentionally delivered before hand. Surprise inspections arent meant to be allowed but by leaving a letter they would just claim they sent it before hand. You could probably make something out of this by not having notice of an inspection.... Up to you.
    post edited by Red Man - 2009/07/29 19:43:19

    "You're not drunk if you can lie on the floor without holding on." Dean Martin

    #9
    BigPete
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 2295
    • Reward points: 7748
    • Joined: 2002/08/27 14:53:32
    • Status: offline
    Re:Surprise Property Inspection. 2009/07/29 19:43:23 (permalink)
    0
    Maybe they were wanting to come check the key you sent them worked, hence why they came quickly.  You may have caused them some concern by replacing the locks - regardless of whether or not they messed you about that time.

    Just trying to see it from their side.
    #10
    1ManRiot
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 22828
    • Reward points: 9459
    • Joined: 2006/11/05 03:16:41
    • Status: offline
    Re:Surprise Property Inspection. 2009/07/29 19:43:25 (permalink)
    0
    Wheels

    Complain about the lack of notice and the entry without your approval.  I'm reasonably sure they have to get you to confirm you accept them entering the property without you present.  They can't just send a blind letter and show up.

    The agents I let from send a letter requesting I contact them to arrange a suitable time and date, which seems like a much fairer way of doing it.  Even if you had got the letter the day it was sent it's quite short notice to get time of work etc that most people would have to arrange.

    Most contracts state they only require to give you 24 hours notice.

    Unaffiliated. 
    #11
    Wheels
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 8900
    • Reward points: 9504
    • Joined: 2003/06/20 18:56:36
    • Location: Sometimes here, Sometimes there
    • Status: offline
    Re:Surprise Property Inspection. 2009/07/29 19:45:03 (permalink)
    0
    Blue_Lagoon3000

    Red Man

    Have you spoken to the leasing company?

    I would mate, dont let it go or you'll be waiting for the post man every day...


    Not yet i didnt get in until 6:30 and they close at 5 maybe im just paranoid but why would they inspect just my house?
     
    About a month ago i was locked out and they wouldnt drop off my spare keys, i travelled all the way to meet them whilst hungover and got some keys, i got back to my apartment and the keys did not work i told them if they did not get working keys to me in 30 mins i'd have the locks drilled, They said NO you can not do that but i was hungover so i got the locks drilled and new ones put on.. they were not pleased but there was no way i was waiting 24 hours for them.
     
    I sent of a spare key to them and then this happens.


    lol, you kind of make it hard kicking up about the inspection by breaking the terms of the lease
    #12
    Blue_Lagoon3000
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 10931
    • Reward points: 2198
    • Joined: 2008/06/15 20:40:26
    • Status: offline
    Re:Surprise Property Inspection. 2009/07/29 20:30:05 (permalink)
    0
    Im not certain they actually did have a look in my wardrobe but it did look like things had been moved about abit maybe i was just being paranoid. Anyway the small amount of "Fail" that i had in my apartment is no longer here so either way i have nothing to worry about.

    Im still annoyed that they intruded without asking my permission.
    #13
    Dumbell King
    Senior Member
    • Total Posts : 178
    • Reward points: 177
    • Joined: 2009/07/26 00:41:09
    • Status: offline
    Re:Surprise Property Inspection. 2009/07/29 20:56:24 (permalink)
    0
    I find that extremely short notice. With my agreement It says I should be given 2 months notice before there is an inspection.

    You with a dodgy landlord?
    #14
    gingernut
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 4729
    • Reward points: 10897
    • Joined: 2005/11/14 13:07:33
    • Location: Cumbria
    • Status: offline
    Re:Surprise Property Inspection. 2009/07/29 21:15:38 (permalink)
    0
    I think my last lease stated 7 days notice and they would ask you to phone the office when you had received the letter.
     
    All depends on the wording of the lease. A property inspection is usually just to make sure you haven't half your friends staying there and that it's in good repair. Were the needles on obvious display or actually inside the wardrobe?
     
    As it is I would get back onto them to tell them they hadn't given you notice - 5 days for a letter that wasn't posted until Friday and possibly 2nd class (probably didn't get put in the business post until Monday) isn't good enough whatever their reasons. So they've entered without your permission thus breaking the terms of your lease. At any time you could just upsticks and leave now. Replacing their locks was naughty though since you've probably broken one of their terms by making alterations without their permission.
     
    There was a gorgeous property I really wanted to view and rent last year, agents couldn't get int as tenants had changed the locks. Whenever they tried to meet up to obtain keys they couldn't make it. They were also behind on their rent so you can see it from their point too.

    http://www.2ndchancept.co.uk/
    Figure competitor training to my natural potential
    Supported by Extreme Nutrition http://www.extremenutrition.co.uk/ Anabelle Edgar bikini
    https://www.facebook.com/...php?id=100009127009397
    #15
    Blue_Lagoon3000
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 10931
    • Reward points: 2198
    • Joined: 2008/06/15 20:40:26
    • Status: offline
    Re:Surprise Property Inspection. 2009/07/29 21:31:06 (permalink)
    0
    Not the Fish theyre not dodgy as far as i know they are quite a big national company.

    Gingernut the needles and vials of Test etc were all inside the the wardrobe but only visible if they opened the wardrobe, not too bothered about that really as im not going to get charged over 5 Test amps. Im glad the gear was next to the bag of syringes or i would of looked like a proper bag head lol.

    Im just going to let it go, they normally do give notice but im not going to kick a fuss, i'll probably just tell them i must confirm before they enter. 
    #16
    Mouser
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 1912
    • Reward points: 2436
    • Joined: 2007/07/16 01:41:42
    • Status: offline
    Re:Surprise Property Inspection. 2009/07/29 21:37:07 (permalink)
    0
    If you want to check your rights before going to them, the citizens advice bureau should be able to help you out if you take the letter and your contract with you.  They can't post it second class the day before for example.
    #17
    DonPaulo666
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 3465
    • Reward points: 5256
    • Joined: 2008/02/29 08:57:00
    • Location: Isle Of Wight
    • Status: offline
    Re:Surprise Property Inspection. 2009/07/29 21:40:50 (permalink)
    0
    I've not read all the posts but I'd be fcking livid.  They are NOT supposed to inspect without your presence, secondly it's human nature to have a nosey if no one's watching, as I said, livid!  Fill the cnut's in!

    Squat: 363kg

    Bench: 195kg

    Deadlift: 300kg

    @ (currently 114kg)

    ...soon to be obliterated!
    #18
    gingernut
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 4729
    • Reward points: 10897
    • Joined: 2005/11/14 13:07:33
    • Location: Cumbria
    • Status: offline
    Re:Surprise Property Inspection. 2009/07/29 21:42:22 (permalink)
    0
    If they didn't look inside the wardrobe you will be ok. Only problem with needles is every one associates them with 'dirty drug addicts' - whether it's AS or illegals you are using they often won't know the difference. They'll see the needles and thing 'drugs'.
     
    They probably won't tell the police but they may decide to terminate your tenancy since part of it almost definitely says they can "if the property is used for illegal purposes" which taking/using/selling drugs is.
     
     
     

    http://www.2ndchancept.co.uk/
    Figure competitor training to my natural potential
    Supported by Extreme Nutrition http://www.extremenutrition.co.uk/ Anabelle Edgar bikini
    https://www.facebook.com/...php?id=100009127009397
    #19
    gingernut
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 4729
    • Reward points: 10897
    • Joined: 2005/11/14 13:07:33
    • Location: Cumbria
    • Status: offline
    Re:Surprise Property Inspection. 2009/07/29 21:46:24 (permalink)
    0
    The other issue about needing to tell you about visiting also protects them from you - what say you now turn around and claim there had been £500 in cash lying around that's now missing?I've known someone do that and the agents got very scared (well they were a government agency), they had to pay up.
     
    Secondly what say you had the day off work and were in the middle of something personal with a girlfriend?They barge in and it's definitely invasion of privacy. Bet you could make a massive one out of that (especially since your GF has then been indecently exposed in the privacy of your own home).

    http://www.2ndchancept.co.uk/
    Figure competitor training to my natural potential
    Supported by Extreme Nutrition http://www.extremenutrition.co.uk/ Anabelle Edgar bikini
    https://www.facebook.com/...php?id=100009127009397
    #20
    Page: 12 > Showing page 1 of 2
    Jump to:
    ©2018 All content is copyright of MuscleTalk.co.uk and its use elsewhere is prohibited.
    (posting guidelines | privacy | advertise | earnings disclaimer | contact us | supported by)
    © 2018 APG vNext Commercial Version 5.5