YB
BannerBanner

Weight management camps - 11 - 17 yrs old...your opinion ?

Author
ste1984
Pro-Member
  • Total Posts : 2207
  • Reward points: 3496
  • Joined: 2007/08/22 14:35:26
  • Status: offline
2009/07/30 16:43:05 (permalink)
0

Weight management camps - 11 - 17 yrs old...your opinion ?

Im about to be offered a job working on one for the summer? Its not a strict boot camp its a highly rated place with steady gains and parents can pay for their kids to go for 2 - 8 weeks? They learn about diet etc and do activities?

Please discuss and let me know your opinions on them?
#1

14 Replies Related Threads

    Wheels
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 8900
    • Reward points: 9504
    • Joined: 2003/06/20 18:56:36
    • Location: Sometimes here, Sometimes there
    • Status: offline
    Re:Weight management camps - 11 - 17 yrs old...your opinion ? 2009/07/30 16:54:10 (permalink)
    0
    Is it called a 'Weight Management' camp, or is it a summer camp with some diet/lifestyle educational stuff thown in?
    #2
    ste1984
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 2207
    • Reward points: 3496
    • Joined: 2007/08/22 14:35:26
    • Status: offline
    Re:Weight management camps - 11 - 17 yrs old...your opinion ? 2009/07/30 16:55:52 (permalink)
    0
    Its definately a weight management camp.
    post edited by ste1984 - 2009/07/30 16:58:32
    #3
    essex_chris
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 17303
    • Reward points: 10038
    • Joined: 2005/08/21 13:20:45
    • Location: Essex
    • Status: offline
    Re:Weight management camps - 11 - 17 yrs old...your opinion ? 2009/07/30 17:07:15 (permalink)
    0
    Sounds like a good thing. As a fatty i do wonder how different things would be if i'd had a short sharp shock type experience as a kid. What you're planning sounds more softly softly than that.

    I would have got on well had i had a PE teacher i'd got on well with to pull me aside and give me a bit of direction with weights or training.

    When i was was at school the whole thing was a chore for the students and the teachers - we used to do the 1500m ish which was 4 laps round the track. Only if you were unfit and struggled then you obviously got stick, but no support or advice. I know full well how much rapid improvement you can get in your cardio with little increases over a matter of days let alone weeks.

    Sounds like the kind of place that you could really help to improve kids lives mate. Imagine if they are there for only 4 weeks but you could help them to achieve a real turnaround that they'll be thanking you in years to come.

    Support and advice is what you want to dish out

    Awesome pic, but Tony you're not doing yourself many favours posting up tips on preventing the gag reflex and then a picture of a guy touching his toes - Ak
    #4
    powerpusher
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 4565
    • Reward points: 10766
    • Joined: 2005/03/06 14:29:43
    • Status: offline
    Re:Weight management camps - 11 - 17 yrs old...your opinion ? 2009/07/30 17:08:30 (permalink)
    0
    take cake and tease them with it



    Psalm 144:1 - Blessed be the Lord my strength, which teacheth my hands to war, and my fingers to fight.

    #5
    James
    Moderator
    • Total Posts : 51091
    • Reward points: 15148
    • Joined: 2000/11/10 18:09:18
    • Location: Northants, UK
    • Status: offline
    Re:Weight management camps - 11 - 17 yrs old...your opinion ? 2009/07/30 21:13:38 (permalink)
    0
    Great idea - anything that's a positive lifestyle improvement should be encouraged

    #6
    AWG
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 7672
    • Reward points: 3733
    • Joined: 2007/07/20 20:58:45
    • Location: Trent Poly, Nottingham
    • Status: offline
    Re:Weight management camps - 11 - 17 yrs old...your opinion ? 2009/07/30 21:16:11 (permalink)
    0
    How'd you hear about this Ste? what qualifications do you need and where is it?

    seems quite interesting
    #7
    Sheeps_Clothing
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 6587
    • Reward points: 7567
    • Joined: 2001/09/22 19:05:12
    • Location: United Kingdom
    • Status: offline
    Re:Weight management camps - 11 - 17 yrs old...your opinion ? 2009/07/30 21:16:40 (permalink)
    0
    Yes great idea! I love teaching kids and would really enjoy this type of experience.

    Grab it with both hands; will impress future employers as well, something a bit different from your average work experience at an accountancy firm!!
    #8
    Drago
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 5218
    • Reward points: 4032
    • Joined: 2007/05/02 15:35:31
    • Status: offline
    Re:Weight management camps - 11 - 17 yrs old...your opinion ? 2009/07/30 21:18:45 (permalink)
    0
    I think if it is done in a way that is educational as well as fun then its a great idea

    If they can have fun, team and individual sports and build up self confidence and make friends aswell as learning how to live more healthily then its fantastic

    If someone if shouting at them on a treadmill and all they eat is celery then its useless
    #9
    Drago
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 5218
    • Reward points: 4032
    • Joined: 2007/05/02 15:35:31
    • Status: offline
    Re:Weight management camps - 11 - 17 yrs old...your opinion ? 2009/07/30 21:19:27 (permalink)
    0
    check out the movie Heavyweights great movie about fat camp
    #10
    ste1984
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 2207
    • Reward points: 3496
    • Joined: 2007/08/22 14:35:26
    • Status: offline
    Re:Weight management camps - 11 - 17 yrs old...your opinion ? 2009/07/30 21:25:24 (permalink)
    0
    Theres no shouting, and celery, its normal meals and a variety of them. Lots of outdoor activities and exercises and i think they want me to bring a little rugby cardio into it too. Its quite a posh place and expensive to send kids too so it should be good for them. I heard about it through my uni as a summer job, and its set up by our uni. No experience really neccesary, but you have to have some experience with kids with problems which i have and be active and into a sport yourself and my Cv is pretty good with a lot about my travelling on it, and im doing BioMedical science instead of the typical sports science which might of swung it my way. Iv gotta go at 9:30am tomorrow for the day with them and see how it goes.
    #11
    ste1984
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 2207
    • Reward points: 3496
    • Joined: 2007/08/22 14:35:26
    • Status: offline
    Re:Weight management camps - 11 - 17 yrs old...your opinion ? 2009/07/30 21:29:16 (permalink)
    0
    Sorry for the poor spelling and grammar above^
    #12
    Drago
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 5218
    • Reward points: 4032
    • Joined: 2007/05/02 15:35:31
    • Status: offline
    Re:Weight management camps - 11 - 17 yrs old...your opinion ? 2009/07/30 21:32:39 (permalink)
    0
    id say do it mate

    i worked in a sumer camp although not a fat camp it was very sports orientated and it was the best experience

    Although it was in the states which helped

    Id say you'll love it
    #13
    AWG
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 7672
    • Reward points: 3733
    • Joined: 2007/07/20 20:58:45
    • Location: Trent Poly, Nottingham
    • Status: offline
    Re:Weight management camps - 11 - 17 yrs old...your opinion ? 2009/07/30 21:34:13 (permalink)
    0
    Kind of rules me out....I don't go to your Uni for a start, and I'm not doing a science degree, although I have worked with children, not with disabilities though

    Lame, coulda been good at that
    #14
    ste1984
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 2207
    • Reward points: 3496
    • Joined: 2007/08/22 14:35:26
    • Status: offline
    Re:Weight management camps - 11 - 17 yrs old...your opinion ? 2009/07/31 20:18:07 (permalink)
    0
    Update:

    Really enjoyed today, shame ill get sacked when my CRB comes through lol. Karma really does exist boys and girls.....
    #15
    Jump to:
    ©2018 All content is copyright of MuscleTalk.co.uk and its use elsewhere is prohibited.
    (posting guidelines | privacy | advertise | earnings disclaimer | contact us | supported by)
    © 2018 APG vNext Commercial Version 5.5