YB
BannerBanner

big AND strong routine opinions please

Author
trickyricky
Universe Member
  • Total Posts : 383
  • Reward points: 6938
  • Joined: 2003/10/16 20:06:01
  • Location: United Kingdom
  • Status: offline
2003/12/30 19:00:28 (permalink)
0

big AND strong routine opinions please

next year i've decided to bulk up a bit (well alot actually) but carry on power-lifting, or try to stay as strong pound for pound. I have bin trying westside but im not keen on it, ive taken a few bits from it though. Also i havnt done any overhead work since i stopped oly lifting because of a shoulder injury, i cant snatch because of it still but reckon i can shoulder press again.
whats your opinions on the order of excercises and work load (ie too little/ much?
ps. it goes sets x reps

Mon
Cleans singles
Clean pulls doubles
Deadlifts triples (alternate top/ bottom)
Barbell rows 6x6
Plate pinch

Tue
Speed bench 8-10x3 (50-60% +2.5kg each cycle)
Incline dumbbell press 4x6
Hammer press 3x8
Dips 3xfailure

Thur
Box squats 8-10x2 (50-60% +2.5kg each cycle)
Front squat 5x5
Pick one
Stiff leg deadlifts
Goodmornings 5x6
Zercher squats

Fri
Clean and press 5x5
Shoulder press 4x6
Close grip bench press 5x5
Dumbbell extensions 4x6

#1

8 Replies Related Threads

    1 Rep Max Designer bodybuilding clothing - built to last. Try our popular Bodybuilding T-Shirts or our excellent Gym Vests
    ozzy
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 1878
    • Reward points: 9195
    • Joined: 2001/10/21 16:53:51
    • Location: England
    • Status: offline
    RE: big AND strong routine opinions please 2004/01/09 13:40:05 (permalink)
    0
    i hope you are on a lot of gear to do this routine bro???

    IMO it is way to taxing.
    #2
    JiGGa
    New Member
    • Total Posts : 91
    • Reward points: 4140
    • Joined: 2002/12/17 22:29:15
    • Location: Belgium
    • Status: offline
    RE: big AND strong routine opinions please 2004/01/09 16:22:29 (permalink)
    0
    quote:
    Originally posted by trickyricky
    Pick one
    Stiff leg deadlifts
    Goodmornings 5x6
    Zercher squats



    I think you got zecher squad mixed up with zercher lift?
    As far as I know zercher squad has about themsame effect as regular squads.
    #3
    PauliE
    Olympian Member
    • Total Posts : 476
    • Reward points: 10505
    • Joined: 2003/05/17 20:41:56
    • Status: offline
    RE: big AND strong routine opinions please 2004/01/09 16:50:07 (permalink)
    0
    It does have more or less the same effect, but squats are better.

    I did them for 3 months because I couldn't squat as normal in the past.

    I think Zercher squats are a good idea as resting the bar on your arm (low on wrists) whilst squatting requires good arm strength. That's only MY opinion though, I'm not saying it does. I'm not saying you will get huge biceps either.
    #4
    Big-AL
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 2134
    • Reward points: 7229
    • Joined: 2002/02/02 16:16:09
    • Location: Ashford, Kent.
    • Status: offline
    RE: big AND strong routine opinions please 2004/01/09 18:46:43 (permalink)
    0
    That is alot of work, have you had success with such volume before?

    How long do you think you might do this?

    AL
    #5
    JiGGa
    New Member
    • Total Posts : 91
    • Reward points: 4140
    • Joined: 2002/12/17 22:29:15
    • Location: Belgium
    • Status: offline
    RE: big AND strong routine opinions please 2004/01/10 15:43:44 (permalink)
    0
    trickyricky maby you need to cut down your routine a litle bit.
    With 3 squad exercises on thesame day it will be hard to go full weights don't you think.

    Steven/
    #6
    trickyricky
    Universe Member
    • Total Posts : 383
    • Reward points: 6938
    • Joined: 2003/10/16 20:06:01
    • Location: United Kingdom
    • Status: offline
    RE: big AND strong routine opinions please 2004/01/10 23:58:40 (permalink)
    0
    ive bin on it for a week now,the friday session was the hardest cos my quads were killing from the day before and my chest was still sore but maybe i'll climatise to it,i think ur right i might have to cut a bit down, if im stil not recovering next week wot should i drop? its changed a bit to..
    (the excercises in brackets can be missed if im not up to it that day)
    DAY 1 – BACK/ HAMSTRINGS
    Cleans- work up to max
    Stiffleg Deadlifts- 5x5 or Goodmornings 4x6
    Barbell Rows- 4x6-8 or 1arm rows 3x6-8
    (Close grip pulldowns)

    DAY 2 – CHEST/ GRIP
    Bench Press 8-10x3@50-60% +2.5kg every 3 weeks
    Incline dumbbell press 4x6-8
    (Hammer press 1x15)
    Plate Pinch

    DAY 3 – LEGS
    Box Squats 8-10x2@50-60% +2.5kg every 3 weeks
    Front squat 5x5 or Zercher Squats 5x5
    (Leg Press 1x20)

    DAY 4 – SHOULDERS/ TRICEPS
    Power clean and press 5x5
    Dumbell Press 4x6-8 or Lateral Raise (pause at top) 3x8-10
    Close Grip Bench Press 5x5 or Dumbbell Extensions 3x6-8

    ps. im not on gear just lots of radox at the mo
    #7
    PikeKing
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 1979
    • Reward points: 4449
    • Joined: 2003/09/16 14:04:19
    • Location: United Kingdom
    • Status: offline
    RE: big AND strong routine opinions please 2004/01/12 12:39:49 (permalink)
    0

    This looks much better than the original routine. A couple of questions though, on Day 1 are you doing squat cleans or power cleans? Either way I'm assuming you are doing them from the floor? To give your lower back a bit of a break I would do the clean and press on Day 4 from the hang position.

    I would forget about the exercises in brackets.
    #8
    help2001
    Olympian Member
    • Total Posts : 750
    • Reward points: 7818
    • Joined: 2002/03/01 12:34:28
    • Location: Glasgow Scotland
    • Status: offline
    RE: big AND strong routine opinions please 2004/01/12 13:19:46 (permalink)
    0
    what is a hammer press?

    personally i would chop it down a bit to:

    Mon
    Cleans singles x 3 working sets
    Stiffleg deadlift 3x5
    Barbell rows 3x6-8
    chins/pull ups 2x5-10

    Tue
    Speed bench 6x2 (50-60% +2.5kg each cycle) // i just find 2 reps better to keep my style tight
    Incline dumbbell press 4x6-8
    farmers walk

    Thur
    Box squats 8-10x2 (50-60% +2.5kg each cycle)
    Front squat 3x5
    legpress 1x20

    Fri
    Clean and press 5x1 @85-95%
    DB Shoulder press 4x6-8
    Close grip bench press 3x5
    #9
    Jump to:
    ©2017 All content is copyright of MuscleTalk.co.uk and its use elsewhere is prohibited.
    (posting guidelines | privacy | advertise | earnings disclaimer | contact us | supported by)
    © 2017 APG vNext Commercial Version 5.5