YB
BannerBanner

opinion on skoda octavia diesels, or an alternative

Author
MonkFinger
Pro-Member
  • Total Posts : 5153
  • Reward points: 7177
  • Joined: 2004/05/11 16:34:19
  • Location: hampshire
  • Status: offline
2009/07/23 08:12:23 (permalink)

opinion on skoda octavia diesels, or an alternative

so, thinking of getting one of these (the recent-ish 2.0 diesel not the older 1.9) to replace my current ever-so-slightly-thirsty pug 406

anybody here owned or driven one? what did you think?

can anyone think of any alternatives for a decent medium size diesel estate? passat? mondeo?

cheers all
#1

10 Replies Related Threads

    USA DEALS
    klein
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 4886
    • Reward points: 9291
    • Joined: 2006/01/26 10:43:13
    • Location: Scotland
    • Status: offline
    Re:opinion on skoda octavia diesels, or an alternative 2009/07/23 10:55:26 (permalink)
    MonkFinger

    so, thinking of getting one of these (the recent-ish 2.0 diesel not the older 1.9) to replace my current ever-so-slightly-thirsty pug 406

    anybody here owned or driven one? what did you think?

    can anyone think of any alternatives for a decent medium size diesel estate? passat? mondeo?

    cheers all


    I have a Seat Leon 2.0 TDi - 140bhp version. I could not recommend this car and engine enough, it has a brilliant range of power, especially suited to motorway driving and is very economical - just completed a 200 mile journey over a variety of A, B and Motorway roads and had a fuel consumption figure of just over 50MPG.

    The Leon may not be large enough for your needs but the same engine can be found in the passat, audi a4, octavia, and I know Seat do a larger car than the Leon, possibly a Toledo.

    Good luck
    #2
    Bookerman
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 5502
    • Reward points: 13397
    • Joined: 2002/02/10 00:06:53
    • Location: United Kingdom
    • Status: offline
    Re:opinion on skoda octavia diesels, or an alternative 2009/07/23 12:11:50 (permalink)
    I've got the Seat Leon FR TDI, 170bhp, its a great car mate, my 2nd seat and I will probably stick to one of the brands that is owned by VW when I change it again.
    #3
    DC77
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 3514
    • Reward points: 10834
    • Joined: 2003/12/20 17:28:21
    • Location: Liverpool, United Kingdom
    • Status: offline
    Re:opinion on skoda octavia diesels, or an alternative 2009/07/23 12:34:13 (permalink)
    The Skoda is favoured by plenty of taxi driver which means it must be cheap to run and repair etc.

    Diesel Estate - you cant really go far wrong with a Mondeo
    #4
    mark4130
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 1224
    • Reward points: 7236
    • Joined: 2004/11/16 19:51:45
    • Location: Baskerville Manor
    • Status: offline
    Re:opinion on skoda octavia diesels, or an alternative 2009/07/23 12:56:45 (permalink)
    I drive a Passat diesel (not the estate though) and I am always at 50+mpg. It pulls away really well when you need it to, but I tend to drive like a very content old man in it.
    I love it.
    #5
    MonkFinger
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 5153
    • Reward points: 7177
    • Joined: 2004/05/11 16:34:19
    • Location: hampshire
    • Status: offline
    Re:opinion on skoda octavia diesels, or an alternative 2009/07/24 10:00:16 (permalink)
    cheers guys, didn't know it was the exact same engine as the seat

    does that mean it can be chipped?
    #6
    Varg
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 4560
    • Reward points: 7163
    • Joined: 2006/01/25 09:48:33
    • Location: The Rhubarb Triangle, Yorkshire
    • Status: offline
    Re:opinion on skoda octavia diesels, or an alternative 2009/07/24 10:33:49 (permalink)
    I have an older (04) Octavia 1.9.
    I think it's great - very efficient to run - between 50 and 60mpg on my commute.

    Plus the boot is massive which is essential for me.


    #7
    klein
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 4886
    • Reward points: 9291
    • Joined: 2006/01/26 10:43:13
    • Location: Scotland
    • Status: offline
    Re:opinion on skoda octavia diesels, or an alternative 2009/07/26 18:37:45 (permalink)
    MonkFinger

    cheers guys, didn't know it was the exact same engine as the seat

    does that mean it can be chipped?



    Yes it can be chipped. I am looking at getting it done on mine, takes the 140BHP to 170BHP it is supposed to increase MPG too but I am sceptical to be honest!
    #8
    klein
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 4886
    • Reward points: 9291
    • Joined: 2006/01/26 10:43:13
    • Location: Scotland
    • Status: offline
    Re:opinion on skoda octavia diesels, or an alternative 2009/07/26 18:39:40 (permalink)
    Bookerman

    I've got the Seat Leon FR TDI, 170bhp, its a great car mate, my 2nd seat and I will probably stick to one of the brands that is owned by VW when I change it again.


    nice motor mate! mine was the top of the range 'Sport' model in 2006, the FR replaced this model. Have you had any issues with the DPF on your car?
    #9
    Bookerman
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 5502
    • Reward points: 13397
    • Joined: 2002/02/10 00:06:53
    • Location: United Kingdom
    • Status: offline
    Re:opinion on skoda octavia diesels, or an alternative 2009/07/26 19:57:07 (permalink)
    nice motor mate! mine was the top of the range 'Sport' model in 2006, the FR replaced this model. Have you had any issues with the DPF on your car?


    No problems with it but have read of others having them. I have felt it kind of splutter a couple of times when driving slowly in 1st or 2nd and have been told thats the DPF but nothing major. When I 1st got it there was dump valve in the engine tha went faulty 3 times but there was a modification that came out for it soon after and its been fine since.
    #10
    klein
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 4886
    • Reward points: 9291
    • Joined: 2006/01/26 10:43:13
    • Location: Scotland
    • Status: offline
    Re:opinion on skoda octavia diesels, or an alternative 2009/07/26 20:39:18 (permalink)
    Bookerman

    nice motor mate! mine was the top of the range 'Sport' model in 2006, the FR replaced this model. Have you had any issues with the DPF on your car?


    No problems with it but have read of others having them. I have felt it kind of splutter a couple of times when driving slowly in 1st or 2nd and have been told thats the DPF but nothing major. When I 1st got it there was dump valve in the engine tha went faulty 3 times but there was a modification that came out for it soon after and its been fine since.


    Thats good mate. Only major fault i have had was with the 'brake pressure sensor' which requires the whole ABS unit to be replaced at a cost of £1500 which thankfully was covered under warranty. 
    #11
    Jump to:
    ©2017 All content is copyright of MuscleTalk.co.uk and its use elsewhere is prohibited.
    (posting guidelines | privacy | advertise | earnings disclaimer | contact us | supported by)
    © 2017 APG vNext Commercial Version 5.5