YB
BannerBanner

opinions on my workout please

Author
mikejm
Olympian Member
  • Total Posts : 611
  • Reward points: 4816
  • Joined: 2005/07/24 12:20:40
  • Status: offline
2005/07/24 12:42:31 (permalink)

opinions on my workout please

I am 6ft 1", 38" waist and 13 st 8 lbs.
I really want to look cut and well defined.
I have been doing the following workout for about 2.5 months and it seems to be working well for me but I wondered if you thought I was going about it the wrong way.
I do the following workout 3 times a week:

1) 10 reps of running up and down the stairs non-stop
2) 15 side stretch things with 20lb dumbell (you know, where you stand legs apart and bend sideways with dumbell in one hand, don't know the name of it sorry)
3) 15 pressups
4) 15 crunches
5) 10 bicep curls with 25 lb dumbell
6) 15 crunches

7) 10 reps of stair runs again
8) Same as No.2
9) 15 pressups
10) 15 crunches
11) 15 chest expanders
12) 10-15 flys, lying on the floor with 20lb dumbell in each hand
13) 15 crunches

I then repeat steps 1 - 6 again.

I know this regeim is a little unconventional but my main goal at the moment is to loose body fat before I bulk up which is why I don't overdo it with the weights.
I have just got some whey protein and am just taking it after workouts at the moment, I'm not too keen on the taste it's alright but can't really face it first thing in the am! It's USN 100% whey chocolate flavour.
Also what do you guys think of ephedra for burning fat. I have a load of em but they speed my heart rate up which worries me.

Thanks for any advice.

Mike
post edited by mikejm - 2005/07/24 13:17:45
#1

8 Replies Related Threads

    MrBojangles
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 1485
    • Reward points: 2602
    • Joined: 2005/01/24 16:48:06
    • Status: offline
    RE: opinions on my workout please 2005/07/24 15:11:02 (permalink)
    Welcome to the forum

    Ok, if I'm honest I don't like it at all, mainly because it doesn't follow any proven structure.

    If you want to lose fat then diet is the key (with inclusion of properly structured cardio as well in my view).

    I'd suggest following a proper weight trianing routine, as what you have outlined above just comes across as (poorly structured) general fitness exercises.

    Read these articles

    http://www.muscletalk.co.uk/losing-fat.asp

    http://www.muscletalk.co.uk/Bodybuilding_for_the_Beginner%21/m_2245/tm.htm

    I would also suggest you post your current diet in the diet forum to get some help there as this will be of significant importance to you.

    Hopefully you can take whats above and start to work towards achieving your goals. Plenty of help available on this forum, so good luck.

    #2
    mikejm
    Olympian Member
    • Total Posts : 611
    • Reward points: 4816
    • Joined: 2005/07/24 12:20:40
    • Status: offline
    RE: opinions on my workout please 2005/07/24 18:40:40 (permalink)
    OK I appreciate what you are saying and thanks for the links. I intend to join a gym soon, I just can't afford it at the moment, plus I just wanted to get a bit more in shape first so I don't look a total n00b at the gym!

    Do you not think the stair running is good for the cardio though? I mean it really gets my heart pumping and I'm at the stage where I'm almost shaking with exhaustion after the last set, a quick shower sorts that out though.

    What about the ephedra? what are your thoughts on that?

    Cheers.
    #3
    MrBojangles
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 1485
    • Reward points: 2602
    • Joined: 2005/01/24 16:48:06
    • Status: offline
    RE: opinions on my workout please 2005/07/24 19:30:33 (permalink)
    Any form of cardio exercise can be beneficial, but its the structure thats important.

    Of course going flat out up some stairs will get your heart going, which could theorretically contribute to improving your fitness and yes by burning calories as a result of the exercise you could lose weight, but I dont think what you are doing is the best way to go about things.
    Read up on steady state cardio for fat loss: e.g. 30-40 mins at 55-65% of your maximum heart rate and also read up on high intensity interval training (HIIT), which very briefly, is short bursts of maximum effort followed by longer periods of lesser intensity.

    Ephedrine: http://www.muscletalk.co.uk/ECA_%28Epedrine%2C_Caffeine%2C_Aspirin%29/m_155953/tm.htm

    It can be beneficial, but as everyone else will also tell you, it is only icing on the cake. A properly structured diet and exercise regime is what gets you results, supplements only give that little extra bit of help when used in conjunction with this.

    #4
    mikejm
    Olympian Member
    • Total Posts : 611
    • Reward points: 4816
    • Joined: 2005/07/24 12:20:40
    • Status: offline
    RE: opinions on my workout please 2005/07/24 20:32:37 (permalink)
    Thanks again.

    Can someone give me some info or send a link detailing the best exercises to do with just my free weights? like I say I can't afford the gym ATM. I'd like to split the exercises over different days so I get a weeks rest on each muscle group but I don't know whats best with just the dumbells and barbell (eg. what can I do for lats etc.?). I could also do with a jargon-buster link, I'm not familiar with some of the names of some of the exercises, what on earth is a Weighted Swiss Ball crunch etc.??.

    Thanks.
    #5
    MrBojangles
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 1485
    • Reward points: 2602
    • Joined: 2005/01/24 16:48:06
    • Status: offline
    RE: opinions on my workout please 2005/07/24 21:05:43 (permalink)
    http://www.exrx.net/Lists/Directory.html

    For all exercises - descriptions and how to do them etc

    Have a read of the bodybuilding routines forum for some inspiration on how to split your routine (as well as the beginners link I already posted)

    With only dumbells and a barbell you are slightly limited (a bench would be useful), but its not the end of the world

    Barbell or dumbbell bent over rows for lats, just to get you started
    #6
    mikejm
    Olympian Member
    • Total Posts : 611
    • Reward points: 4816
    • Joined: 2005/07/24 12:20:40
    • Status: offline
    RE: opinions on my workout please 2005/07/25 00:11:23 (permalink)
    Hi mate,

    I was looking at benches on argos.co.uk, they've got some pretty cheap adjustable ones with leg curls and fly extensions like the york 6605, do you recommend getting one of these or should I just get a good quality basic one like york hyper bench?
    #7
    SapperG
    New Member
    • Total Posts : 16
    • Reward points: 2240
    • Joined: 2005/07/24 16:21:25
    • Status: offline
    RE: opinions on my workout please 2005/07/25 00:39:34 (permalink)
    If i was u id look in ur local paper or bargain pages people are always selling exercise equipment they no longer use, once saw a bench with 50kg bar/dumbbells kit 4 £30. Remember u want one with a rack.
    post edited by SapperG - 2005/07/25 00:41:02
    #8
    csite
    Senior Member
    • Total Posts : 131
    • Reward points: 2246
    • Joined: 2005/07/21 16:40:42
    • Location: Edinburgh
    • Status: offline
    RE: opinions on my workout please 2005/07/25 11:03:34 (permalink)
    when you buy second hand make sure yu test it Properly, it will be very dangerous if it suddently broke (the bench) when your lifting weights.

    Anyways, i got mine from ebay for £50, + £10 for delivery and it great :)
    #9
    Jump to:
    ©2017 All content is copyright of MuscleTalk.co.uk and its use elsewhere is prohibited.
    (posting guidelines | privacy | advertise | earnings disclaimer | contact us | supported by)
    © 2017 APG vNext Commercial Version 5.5