Sponsored by: Discount Supplements - For an extra 6% off Absolutely Everything - use code: SEPT6

opinions on new strength/ power routine

Author
trickyricky
Universe Member
  • Total Posts : 383
  • Reward points: 6938
  • Joined: 2003/10/16 20:06:01
  • Location: United Kingdom
  • Status: offline
2003/10/28 11:54:01 (permalink)

opinions on new strength/ power routine

i enjoy both powerlifting and olympic style lifting but have never trained both at the same time, if anyone has any ideas of improving this routine please let me know

Mon
Box squat 2x8-10@ 50-60% (+chains)
Clean& jerk 65x3/1, 75x2/1 x2, 85x2/1 x2, 90+x1/1x2
Clean pulls 95x3, 105x2 x3
Squat assistance 8x4
Back various

Tue
Bench press 3x8-10@ 50-60% (+chains)
Snatch 55x3, 65x3, 75x2, 85x2, 90+x1 x3
Snatch pulls 90x2 x2, 95x2 x2, 105x2 x2
Bench assistance 8x4
Back various

Thur
Clean& jerk 60x3/2, 70x3/2, 80x2/2 x2, 90+x2/1 x2
Hang Clean pulls 90x5, 95x5, 105x5 x3
Max squat work up to 100%
Squat assistance 5x5
Back various

Fri
Snatch 55x3, 65x3, 75x3, 85x2, 90+x2 x3, 80x2 x2
Hang Snatch pulls 85x5, 95x5, 105x5 x3
Max bench work up to 100%
Bench assistance 5x5
Back various

max bench/ squat is westside style ie 2 weeks close grip bp, 2weeks floor press etc.
back work ie. pull downs, t-bar rows etc are scheduled every day but are left out if im too sore/tired until the next session
#1

4 Replies Related Threads

    1 Rep Max Designer bodybuilding clothing - built to last. Try our popular Hoodie... The 'Utili-Hood' or our hard wearing Training Vests
    suggy3001
    Olympian Member
    • Total Posts : 675
    • Reward points: 12447
    • Joined: 2003/01/06 09:50:20
    • Location: The world of tomorrow
    • Status: offline
    RE: opinions on new strength/ power routine 2003/10/29 10:47:23 (permalink)
    agreed dont like it. simplify it more. for instance on monday I would drop the clean pulls and reduce the squat assistance to 3x5. and drop the back work. dont understand the reasoning behind 8x4!? too much for cns conditioning too low reps for hypertrophy.
    #2
    trickyricky
    Universe Member
    • Total Posts : 383
    • Reward points: 6938
    • Joined: 2003/10/16 20:06:01
    • Location: United Kingdom
    • Status: offline
    RE: opinions on new strength/ power routine 2003/10/29 18:13:01 (permalink)
    that kind of rep scheme seems to work for me (obviously not all are to failure it weights pyramid up then back down) and reps are low because i have no interest in hypertrophy its just a byproduct of getting stronger as far as im concerned. But with the shoulder presses, surely if they will keep my bench stong, then benching will keep my shoulder press strong? thanks for the opinions though
    #3
    Funtime
    New Member
    • Total Posts : 16
    • Reward points: 3532
    • Joined: 2003/10/17 12:59:05
    • Location: England
    • Status: offline
    RE: opinions on new strength/ power routine 2003/10/29 18:55:08 (permalink)
    Tricky,
    What is your primary goal from your program, power or strength?
    #4
    trickyricky
    Universe Member
    • Total Posts : 383
    • Reward points: 6938
    • Joined: 2003/10/16 20:06:01
    • Location: United Kingdom
    • Status: offline
    RE: opinions on new strength/ power routine 2003/10/29 21:58:28 (permalink)
    at the moment im competing in powerlifting but by nxt xmas im after some oly comps,so strength mainly and practicing the o lifts so later in the year when i up the oly stuff i should have good technique and a strong base to work from, but at the mo im set to break the british bench press record and maybe the european soon so im gonna stick with that for a bit and slowly change from power lifting to oly lifting. i just dont want to lose all ive gained so far i have only bin powerlifting a year before that i was training only olympic style.
    #5
    Jump to:
    ©2017 All content is copyright of MuscleTalk.co.uk and its use elsewhere is prohibited. (posting guidelines | privacy | advertise | contact us | supported by)
    © 2017 APG vNext Commercial Version 5.5