Sponsored by: Discount Supplements - For an extra 6% off Absolutely Everything - use code: SEPT6

opinions please..

Author
theITman
Pro-Member
  • Total Posts : 4849
  • Reward points: 2228
  • Joined: 2009/12/22 22:25:44
  • Location: Trapped in a box!
  • Status: offline
2011/03/25 12:14:34 (permalink)

opinions please..

after the SUC is finished i want to address a few issues with my shape. I have quite a bad imbalance on my left side, arm is smaller, leg is smaller etc etc, I always belived that barbbell training would iron out these imbalances but if anything i think its made it worse. Right side pushing harder for example..
 
So my plan is, to do 8-10 weeks of dumbbell work only training the left side and the right side seperatley one arm rows for example, one arm dumbbell press etc, with slightly higher volume on the imbalanced side to bring the size up, i have been doing this for the last few weeks, and i think its helping. I will only use a barbbell, for squats deadlifts and lunges...lunges dont matter as its mainly a one leg excercise anyway.
 
What i have learned from barbell work is that its excellent for ironing out strength imbalances if using the right rep range, so i will follow the 8-10 weeks of training with 6 weeks of strength mainly barbell only training in very low range 1,2,3#s to counter act any strength imbalances that have appeared from the dumbbell training... Hopefully this leaves me with an equal left and right, in size and strength.
 
Maybe this is far to complicated, i thought of it this morning. The worksouts them selves will be straightforward as always ill come up with that after.
 
Any other suggestions or does this sound plausible?
#1

5 Replies Related Threads

    1 Rep Max Designer bodybuilding clothing - built to last. Try our popular Hoodie... The 'Utili-Hood' or our hard wearing Training Vests
    theITman
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 4849
    • Reward points: 2228
    • Joined: 2009/12/22 22:25:44
    • Location: Trapped in a box!
    • Status: offline
    Re:opinions please.. 2011/03/25 18:48:44 (permalink)
    bump...
    #2
    dazc
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 29788
    • Reward points: 11750
    • Joined: 2003/04/02 08:23:02
    • Location: United Kingdom
    • Status: offline
    Re:opinions please.. 2011/03/25 19:19:32 (permalink)
    hi mate,
     
    any back problems, shoulder problems etc?
     
    whats strength like on each side?  same range of movement each side?
    #3
    theITman
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 4849
    • Reward points: 2228
    • Joined: 2009/12/22 22:25:44
    • Location: Trapped in a box!
    • Status: offline
    Re:opinions please.. 2011/03/25 19:50:23 (permalink)
    Hey buddy,
     
    Strength equal on both sides roughly, maybe 1 or two reps difference but can shift the same weight with both sides, rowing or bicep curling for example. Im right handed by the way.
     
    No back problems, both front delts arent in the best way but i just avoid front raises. Shoulders tend to click alot but nothing i cant train around. Pressing is ok, do get some pain in the left shoulder if i press to often.
     
    An i would say equal range of motion, although when i try to do things with my left side im alot less co-ordainated. I noticed this today when i was trying to push my elbows back, you know to create a small shelf for the bar to rest on when squatting..I just couldnt seem to make that brain connection to make my elbow go backwards....i know that sounds weird.
     
    Not sure on anything else really, i would say my left Lat is more developed than my right one to, and possibly my left chest a touch.
    #4
    dazc
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 29788
    • Reward points: 11750
    • Joined: 2003/04/02 08:23:02
    • Location: United Kingdom
    • Status: offline
    Re:opinions please.. 2011/03/25 19:59:24 (permalink)
    hmm difficult one then mate, couldnt really give much advice without seeing you in person.
     
    its quite possible, that no matter how you adjust your routine, you cant correct the imbalance because there could be something causing it.
     
    not quite the same, but i trained hammies harder than anything else for years, but they wouldnt grow at all.  sorted out some nerve problems that i never even knew i had (well not in my hams anyway, i did have a bad back) and BOOM they are growing better than any other bodypart!
     
    if your going to try training differently, then i would do the same for both sides, but do your weaker side first, and then just match it with the stronger side.  i wouldnt deliberately train one side more than the other.  if its not growing now, working it extra hard is unlikely to make it grow either.
    #5
    theITman
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 4849
    • Reward points: 2228
    • Joined: 2009/12/22 22:25:44
    • Location: Trapped in a box!
    • Status: offline
    Re:opinions please.. 2011/03/25 20:04:45 (permalink)
    Well my left arm for example i think is growing with the extra training but i need to measure it to compare with the start of the SUC.
     
    Arms are ok i guess as i cant really cause any major problems there as its an isolation excercise, but i dont want to start doing rows and make a mess of my back for example.
     
    wish i could have taken up rach#s offer at the expo!
     
    The missus thinks its all in my head! 
     
    #6
    Jump to:
    ©2017 All content is copyright of MuscleTalk.co.uk and its use elsewhere is prohibited. (posting guidelines | privacy | advertise | contact us | supported by)
    © 2017 APG vNext Commercial Version 5.5