Sponsored by: Discount Supplements - For an extra 6% off Absolutely Everything - use code: SEPT6

westside program - help and opinions needed!

Author
veganlifter
Pro-Member
  • Total Posts : 3899
  • Reward points: 4241
  • Joined: 2003/03/03 15:36:13
  • Location: Manchester United Kingdom
  • Status: offline
2003/11/13 19:08:40 (permalink)

westside program - help and opinions needed!

Like Badboy, i'm going to give westside training a shot. I jotted this one down, it's based on Ozzys westside routine he posted to MT ages ago (see, i save these things!) and I tweaked it a bit. Anyways, since i'm entering totallyt unknown territory, i could use some help and opinions from anyone who has used westside before.

1. Maximum Effort Squat
- squat, deadlift or good mornings(change every 3 weeks), up to 3x3 max and then 4 singles (exept GM which i'm still learning)
- Lower back work with SLDL, half DL's or GM (if not maxing with it) 4 x 8-10
- Abs 4 x 8-12

2. ME bench
- Bench press up to 3x3 then 4 singles. Should i have any alternatives here like on ME squat day?
- pushdowns or tri extensions (I can't believe I'm writing this ) 3-4 x 8-10
- Lat raise 3-4 x 8-10
- Row, barbell or db, 4 x 8-10
- Bicep movement 4x8-10

3. Dynamic effort squat
- Speed squats 8 x 2 on 60%
- hyperextensions (possibly) 4x8-12
- Power cleans 3 x 3 really want to have these in somewhere, is it ok here?
- Side bends 4 x 8-12

4. DE bench
- Speed bench 9 x 3 at 60%
- close grip bp 4 x what rep range should i use here? 8-10?
- Standing shoulder press 4 x 8-10
- chins 4 x 8-10
- bicep work 4 x 8-10

Firstly this is quite a change for me because the huge increase in volume, isolation work which i don't currently do pretty much at all, and the high reps. It's been a while since I last did anything with higher than 5 reps...

I did take some direct tri work off from ozzys and other programs i've seen because it started getting really full already.

opinions guys?
#1

11 Replies Related Threads

    help2001
    Olympian Member
    • Total Posts : 762
    • Reward points: 7818
    • Joined: 2002/03/01 12:34:28
    • Location: Glasgow Scotland
    • Status: offline
    RE: westside program - help and opinions needed! 2003/11/13 20:36:25 (permalink)
    1. Maximum Effort Squat
    - squat, deadlift or good mornings(change every 3 weeks), up to 3x3 max and then 4 singles (exept GM which i'm still learning)
    - Lower back work with SLDL, half DL's or GM (if not maxing with it) 4 x 8-10
    - Abs 4 x 8-12

    2. ME bench
    - Bench press up to 3x3 then 4 singles. Should i have any alternatives here like on ME squat day? you can work in board presses and cambered bar work if you have them
    - pushdowns or tri extensions (I can't believe I'm writing this ) 3-4 x 8-10
    personally i dont like them. I prefer close grip bench, dips, lock outs, JM press.....
    - Lat raise 3-4 x 8-10 i would lose this
    - Row, barbell or db, 4 x 8-10 just do 3 sets
    - Bicep movement 4x8-10 biceps?! why not put on some lycra as well

    3. Dynamic effort squat
    - Speed squats 8 x 2 on 60% box?
    - hyperextensions (possibly) 4x8-12
    - Power cleans 3 x 3 really want to have these in somewhere, is it ok here? yeah IMO
    - Side bends 4 x 8-12

    4. DE bench
    - Speed bench 9 x 3 at 60%
    - close grip bp 4 x what rep range should i use here? 8-10?
    - Standing shoulder press 4 x 8-10 maybe lower the volume a bit
    - chins 4 x 8-10 same as above
    - bicep work 4 x 8-10 need i say anything again



    I think your volume on bench days is too much for a beginer (ala you and me)
    I just stick with 1 main move, 1 accesory and a 3rd move of the same region

    Also, what about GPP?
    #2
    PikeKing
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 1985
    • Reward points: 4449
    • Joined: 2003/09/16 14:04:19
    • Location: United Kingdom
    • Status: offline
    RE: westside program - help and opinions needed! 2003/11/13 21:28:09 (permalink)

    Program looks fine to me mate. I would use more than one ME Bench movement though. Can be anything really, use the ideas posted above. Also you could use incline and decline versions, use various grips as a ME too, I've even seen people using DBs for ME.

    My DE movement for the lower body is a powerclean as I have no squat rack, should be fine as an accessory.

    Always a good idea to chuck in some rotator cuff work with westside as its quite intense on the shoulders, think of it as prehab.
    #3
    scruffy
    Moderator
    • Total Posts : 4917
    • Reward points: 12791
    • Joined: 2001/09/03 23:09:18
    • Location: United Kingdom
    • Status: offline
    RE: westside program - help and opinions needed! 2003/11/13 21:31:57 (permalink)
    quote:
    1. Maximum Effort Squat
    - squat, deadlift or good mornings(change every 3 weeks), up to 3x3 max and then 4 singles (exept GM which i'm still learning)
    - Lower back work with SLDL, half DL's or GM (if not maxing with it) 4 x 8-10
    - Abs 4 x 8-12

    2. ME bench
    - Bench press up to 3x3 then 4 singles. Should i have any alternatives here like on ME squat day?board presses,lockouts,floor presses
    - pushdowns or tri extensions (I can't believe I'm writing this ) 3-4 x 8-10 lying tricep extensions or tate presses
    - Lat raise 3-4 x 8-10
    - Row, barbell or db, 4 x 8-10would put this with me squat day
    - Bicep movement 4x8-10

    3. Dynamic effort squat
    - Speed squats 8 x 2 on 60%speed deads, box squats and all variations
    - hyperextensions (possibly) 4x8-12
    - Power cleans 3 x 3 really want to have these in somewhere, is it ok here?it defeats the object of speed day,if you must then the reps need to be higher
    - Side bends 4 x 8-12

    4. DE bench
    - Speed bench 9 x 3 at 60%
    - close grip bp 4 x what rep range should i use here? 8-10?
    - Standing shoulder press 4 x 8-10
    - chins 4 x 8-10
    - bicep work 4 x 8-10


    thats all i would amend.
    #4
    veganlifter
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 3899
    • Reward points: 4241
    • Joined: 2003/03/03 15:36:13
    • Location: Manchester United Kingdom
    • Status: offline
    RE: westside program - help and opinions needed! 2003/11/14 09:10:52 (permalink)
    help, pike, scruffy, cheers bro's.

    Seems like conflicting suggestions, which i think is promising because it shows how much more flexible westside is than one could first imagine.

    scruffy, the rows are hard to place, but were they in ME squat, i'd be doing them only a day after chins (in DE bench) and also there would be too much stuff for bi's across the week. Though help may be right that i should just ditch them and get the overall volume down untill i'm more experienced mofo...

    Pike, i'll add the inclines & declines to the ME bench - the more eccentric ones can wait for a moment Also will follow helps opinion on not bothering with pushdowns for the time being and just stick to things like tricep dips and close grips.

    Would bench lockouts hit tri's and work as a heavy tri exercise?

    I'll digest this all for a bit and will post the new version later.

    cheers bros!
    #5
    scruffy
    Moderator
    • Total Posts : 4917
    • Reward points: 12791
    • Joined: 2001/09/03 23:09:18
    • Location: United Kingdom
    • Status: offline
    RE: westside program - help and opinions needed! 2003/11/14 09:54:22 (permalink)
    veganlifter, what days are you actually training?

    the actual workout i have ammended is what ozz and myself are following now and after nearly a year with a few tweaks we are still getting stronger and bigger,
    #6
    veganlifter
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 3899
    • Reward points: 4241
    • Joined: 2003/03/03 15:36:13
    • Location: Manchester United Kingdom
    • Status: offline
    RE: westside program - help and opinions needed! 2003/11/14 11:54:38 (permalink)
    quote:
    Originally posted by scruffy

    veganlifter, what days are you actually training?


    haven't decided for the actual days yet but the programmes i've used as reference seem to have bundled the DE bench and ME squats back to back, do you do this as well?

    I'm flexible with days anyway, but if there needs to be two days back to back, i'll make them the weekend. Also if me & BB end up training together once in a while we might try to have our program run on same days.

    One problem I have is incorporating my grip training into all this as well... Oh yeah, and GPP as well, forgot about that one...
    #7
    scruffy
    Moderator
    • Total Posts : 4917
    • Reward points: 12791
    • Joined: 2001/09/03 23:09:18
    • Location: United Kingdom
    • Status: offline
    RE: westside program - help and opinions needed! 2003/11/14 11:56:18 (permalink)
    we do max effort squat and then the next day max bench, not really the best idea in the world but does work for us.
    #8
    veganlifter
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 3899
    • Reward points: 4241
    • Joined: 2003/03/03 15:36:13
    • Location: Manchester United Kingdom
    • Status: offline
    RE: westside program - help and opinions needed! 2003/11/14 15:17:44 (permalink)
    one q about the weights selection for the 8-10 rep sets, should i pic a weight and do 3-4 sets with it, pyramid up as much as possible or what? Should I aim to make clear and measurable progression from session to session on these as well?
    #9
    scruffy
    Moderator
    • Total Posts : 4917
    • Reward points: 12791
    • Joined: 2001/09/03 23:09:18
    • Location: United Kingdom
    • Status: offline
    RE: westside program - help and opinions needed! 2003/11/14 15:46:46 (permalink)
    i pyramid up and make a concious effort to make sure i dont lift less than last time, keep progressing if at poss, you will be amazed at how much your weight increase will be in a very short time.
    #10
    veganlifter
    Pro-Member
    • Total Posts : 3899
    • Reward points: 4241
    • Joined: 2003/03/03 15:36:13
    • Location: Manchester United Kingdom
    • Status: offline
    RE: westside program - help and opinions needed! 2003/11/14 15:57:36 (permalink)
    quote:
    Originally posted by scruffy
    you will be amazed at how much your weight increase will be in a very short time.


    I sure hope you are right mate
    #11
    help2001
    Olympian Member
    • Total Posts : 762
    • Reward points: 7818
    • Joined: 2002/03/01 12:34:28
    • Location: Glasgow Scotland
    • Status: offline
    RE: westside program - help and opinions needed! 2003/11/14 16:04:31 (permalink)
    your q about lockouts:
    yes, i count them as a heavy tri movement
    #12
    Jump to:
    ©2017 All content is copyright of MuscleTalk.co.uk and its use elsewhere is prohibited. (posting guidelines | privacy | advertise | contact us | supported by)
    © 2017 APG vNext Commercial Version 5.5